CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Your Regular Weekend Update

2005-05-02� � 5:23 p.m.
On Friday I attended an all-day-long departmental meeting. It was mostly a laugh of a day, getting paid to listen to company rah-rah crap, eat lunch on the company�s bill, and hang out with a few coworkers I enjoy.

At 4:30 they hauled out the beer, and the social hour began. Believe me, I needed the beer at this point...

Because the meeting was mind numbingly boring?

Because we had to perform an exercise where we vocalized our appreciation for those we work with?

Because I the veggie sandwich provided with lunch was drippy and gross?

No, no, and no. It was because there were two onesies for toilets, shared among 150 people.

The first time I got up to pee out the free bottled water, I entered a freshly pooped-in onesie. Not only did I have to hold my breath because of the boyish smell, I hoped like all hell that nobody saw me leave and assumed I made the big boy stench.

The second time I got up to pee out the last several bottles of Aquafina consumed, I opened a onesie to someone sitting on the john, taking a dump.

With little hope, I downed three beers to rid myself of the smidgen of an image I got when I my eyes snapped shut upon hearing his voice.

The rest of Friday night was out with a couple coworkers and some mutual friends. We started at one�s house with beers and pizza before heading to Wicker Park for what was supposed to be a good DJ. Wrong!

Then we ended up someplace near(ish) to my house for another supposedly good DJ. This DJ was significantly better, but I couldn�t get over being the oldest person there.

I left soon after for a quick cab ride home.

The next morning I bounced up at 9 a.m. I held off for as long as I could before I called my family to say hello and to wake up Benito. I ran some errands, blah-blah-blah, and then Benito came to pick me up.

We went for a run around Lincoln Park, our first run together. He has this fancy-schmancy GPS running device that tells us how fast we�re running. Apparently our jog is sub-nine minute miles. Who knew? We did about four miles before we reached his house again.

A shower, a change of clothes, and a quick search on the local restaurant info page, and we were walking to a sushi restaurant for some recommended grub. The place was quite good, adding another place to our weekly Japanese-fix fillers.

The rest of the night was spent clearing out the Tivo, playing a videogame, and tangling our limbs on the couch.

On Sunday we tried to be good little consumers and spend our recently mailed 20%-off Bed Bath and Beyond coupons, but all we ended up with was a new bathmat for his bathroom. He tried for a new comforter, but the sizes weren�t right. I tried for some barstools, but I wasn�t quite sure on the color once I saw them again. I also tried for a large mirror, but hanging it would surely be a bigger bitch in the ass than I would put up with.

Instead of more housewares, I ended up with a new collar for Hambone. He�s now got a pretty blue strap with some sparkles around his neck.

After my entire $9 spent, we went back to his place, played some videogames, took a long nap, and watched something from his Netflix before I went home.

That wraps things up for the weekend.

This week�s plans include running as much as possible (despite the coldness making me want nothing more than to bundle up, eat pasta, and watch Netflix), reading for book club (despite The Hours not yet being all that interesting), setting an appointment to take my real estate license test (despite needing to study desperately), and getting whatever needs to be done, done (despite not yet knowing what that is).

Have a great week, all. Hopefully I�ll be back again before all too long. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com