CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

100th Entry Extravaganza

2003-07-13� � 8:34 p.m.
Yes, that�s right. This entry marks my 100th to diaryland, so I�m gonna make it something similar to what so many others do and still keep the entry on the 100-something theme.

You get my very own �100 Things About Me� list!

Shut up and pretend you like it, and I�ll try to include things that you might not necessarily know to keep you entertained.

1. I've had a lot of really great dates in my days, but my favorites include the day I randomly spent in San Marcos with my then-boyfriend, our last date before I moved to Chicago at a fancy-schmancy restaurant where we laughed at how out of our element we were, and a semi-date to the Hancock Center where the guy and I saw emergency lights on a bridge across town and talked about how much was going on that affected other people at that very moment.

2. The last date I went on was to Chinatown. The guy convinced me that something was blue cheese-flavored, but it was actually a nice coconut jello-like dessert. It was both fun and funny, and I'll probably see him again.

3. When I go out with people, I give them descriptive names so my friends will remember who I'm talking about. For instance, I've dated Chuck the Alcoholic, Ben the Hot Banker, Old Man Stan, and Face-licker Steve.

4. None of them got second dates. Most people don't.

5. Only two people have: One showed a bit of a backbone and argued with me, and the other was actually really nice. One has been dumped, and the other hangs out with me occasionally.

6. I won't ever talk about sex in my diary. Mostly because I'm not getting any, but I also think that falls under TMI. If I had a long-term boyfriend, I might say something about the hot-hot-lovin', but not while I'm a single, celibate girl.

7. Every time I type the word celibate, I remember a joke about a priest going to heaven and making it his afterlife's goal to learn the old languages and re-translate the bible. When he gets to the part about priest not being allowed to have sex, he causes a raucous when he realizes that the word was misprinted and should have read "celebrate" instead of "celibate".

8. Eight is my favorite number. There's no particular reason. It just seems like a nice number. Four is my second-favorite, and two is my third favorite. If I have to have a fourth favorite, let's make it 1,086. That's a nice, even number. [smirk]

9. I made my first Internet buddy in 1995, and I didn't meet him for a year. I still talk with him today, and I even drove to his wedding a few summers ago.

10. I ate a BBQ sandwich six months after going vegetarian because I wanted to see if I still liked it. I didn't, and there haven't been anymore "falling off the wagon" incidents. I'm actually basically vegan these days.

11. This includes both mayo and ranch dressing, but I'll still eat honey until I finish my big jar of it. I got that jar from a friend in New Zealand, and it's good stuff.

12. I once had a boyfriend for five years. The one previous was for two, and the one before was for one. I�m now happily single-single-single.

13. I make really awesome oatmeal cookies.

14. I got my first kiss when I was 12. It was a boy named Rodney. We kissed on a Friday night dance and broke up the next Tuesday. I was wearing a long-sleeved, blue polka-dotted shirt and a pair of Palmetto blue jeans. I lost those blue jeans on a trip to Dallas.

15. I started college fulltime at 15, graduated at 19, and have been working since then. I'll most likely get a graduate degree, but I haven't yet decided in what.

16. Possible topics to get a graduate degree in include: law, business, rhetoric, organizational communication, church/organization management, or any kind of biology (specifically forensics). Org comm and a masters-level business certificate will probably win.

17. I was seventeen the first time I got drunk. My then-boyfriend got some Boones Strawberry Daiquiri and Mai Tai, and I drank half a bottle of each.

18. I had Boones about six weeks ago. My friend and I split the bottle, and it didn't do anything for either of us.

19. If you wanna make my engine purr, kiss my clavicle.

20. If you really wanna make my engine purr, know what a clavicle is.

21. The first alcoholic purchase I made was a purple Everclear margarita from Baby A's in Austin. The first alcoholic purchase I made at the grocery store was a bottle of Lindeman's Bin 65. I drank half a glass and then let it sit in the fridge until I moved a year later and threw it out.

22. I have no opinion on abortion. Really. None whatsoever.

23. I once drive from Austin to Wisconsin on a three-day weekend with three friends so one of them could buy a Corvette. It ended up being all rusted out, and he bought a Vette for sale 20 minutes from my house in Austin.

24. When I smell hot mustard, I think of the first time I visited Chicago.

25. I'm an ESTJ according to the Keirsey Temperament Sorter.

26. I did my honors undergraduate thesis on applying these behavior classifications towards how people write.

27. My sample group wasn't large enough to show me anything too extraordinary.

28. I will not date a guy who is overly religious or who doesn't drink. I don't need anyone putting me down based on his decisions. Leave me alone and love me as I am.

29. You must be funny though. That's my number one requirement. I've dated many not-so-attractive guys because they made me bust my guts. Face it: We're all going to be old and saggy one day, so I might as well be entertained.

30. I didn�t start carrying a purse until recently. And even then, I don�t carry it most of the time since everything but my cell phone fits in my pocket.

31. If you're going to set me up with someone, please ask my opinion before you start talking with him. I'm way pickier than most people, and I have some points that I won't waiver on.

32. For one, I refuse to date someone with a kid.

33. I think this is wrong of me because I don't want someone to hold my past experiences against me, yet I'm doing it anyway. If you didn't grow inside my uterus, I don't need to be called "mom".

34. I once considered marrying someone I had known for only a week.

35. We still talk regularly, but we�re not getting hitched anytime soon -- if ever at all. Note #32.

36. I fully intend on getting eloped if I ever do get married. The amount of money spent on a wedding seems ridiculous. I'd rather put money down on a house instead.

37. No matter how unpopular this will be, I do not understand smokers. With the obvious health issues and everyone constantly in a state of "trying to quit," somehow people take it up anyway. It just doesn't sound like a smart thing to do. [shrug]

38. I've been accused of not being sympathetic enough. I think I'm just being fair and using common sense, but I'm trying to do a better job of understanding where someone else comes from... Even if they are making f-ing idiotic decisions.

39. I've never, ever done illegal drugs. I'm super-allergic to pot smoke, and there's nothing else I'd even be interested in trying. Too addictive, too expensive, not the right effect I'd want in a drug, etc., etc.

40. I don't mind if others use drugs, so long as they're responsible with it.

41. I think I�d eventually like to have something like four kids.

42. I much prefer bar soap to liquid soap, but I don't like to share the bar soap germs with anyone.

43. I still don't know what in the heck that "monkey's blood" medicine was that my parents put on my cuts when I was little. I just remember it being scary.

44. Every boyfriend except one has cheated on me.

45. Yes, I'm jaded.

46. Everyone I'm even semi-dating is long-distance. This has been referred to as me keeping someone "at an emotional arm's length".

47. People who repeatedly drink and drive piss me off to no end.

48. I�m a freak for the Dreamsicle, but it�s dairy and I don�t eat them anymore.

49. My desk at work has the following items: a phone, a stapler, a tape dispenser with the good kind of tape, some white out, a pencil holder, some Victoria�s Secret body cream in azurine scent, a studious-looking gnome, and a few pictures of family and friends.

50. My desk at home is a wreck but no longer has some Victoria�s Secret body cream in azurine scent, a studious-looking gnome, or a few pictures of family and friends on it.

51. I really, really want to be nominated for a diarist award. Really, really.

52. If I were to have any car, I'd want a like-new Lexus SC400. An SC300 is acceptable, as is a BMW M3 or 540i-Sport, any number of Mercedeses, and a couple other Lexuses.

53. If I were to buy a car it would be a Nissan Altima. If I bought a truck, it would be a Toyota PreRunner. If I had an SUV, it would be a Honda CRV. If I were being silly and bought a car, I'd definitely get a powder pink VW Beetle.

54. My car's requirements: Under $20k, at least 20 mpg, and something foreign. Oh yeah -- a rear defroster and intermittent windshield wipers are also must-haves.

55. I'd probably end up with the CRV if I could convince myself that I actually ever needed a new car. I'd want one in either silver or that funky brown-gold color.

56. Both cars that I have owned have been brown. I like that it hides dirt really well.

57. I don�t like chocolate or anything cherry-flavored.

58. But I do like hot cocoa and real cherries.

59. The last book I read was �Mother Night� by Kurt Vonnegut. My ex recommended it, and I enjoyed it.

60. Now that people have moved into the new apartments across the alleyway from me, I have to be careful that either no lights are on or the blinds are closed during naked time. If I'm changing, I simply turn away from the window because I don't care who sees my naked back.

61. My "memory box" has mostly old birthday cards. There are also some awards and whatnot in the box too.

62. I've gotten rid of all but one ex-boyfriend's box of letters and stuff. It'll go soon enough though. What's in the past is in the past, so there's no need to cling to it.

63. The people who say, "What did you learn from that bad situation?" really tick me off. There are really things I could have done without in my lifetime, and I'd prefer not to take some of those lessons with me.

64. I couldn�t be a stripper, but I don�t look down on those who choose to be. I admit that it was dang tempting when I was jobless -- so effortless and so much money.

65. I really enjoy playing at a lake. I don�t care what lake it is because there�s so much cool stuff there -- swimming in fresh water, picnicking, playing volleyball, boating, and lounging with friends.

66. I grew up on Lake Houston and went boating almost every weekend.

67. I step over cracks in the pavement and try to alternate which foot does the stepping over. I don�t know why, but this is something I�ve done since the fourth grade.

68. I have five nephews and one niece: Kyle, 15; Taryn, 12; Cody, 6; Dylan, 3; Logan, 2; Jordan, 2. Brandon James is due at the beginning of August, so I�ll be heading back to Houston then.

69. Been there. Done that.

70. I�ve always wanted to go to Cirque du Soleil, so I think I�m going to go this week, despite the $50 ticket.

71. I think men should use the word �gorgeous� more often. It�s much more likely than �beautiful� to get you any play. �Captivating� is also a nice one.

72. Potatoes are quite possibly the world�s most perfect food.

73. I once fell asleep on the el and woke up 12 miles from my house. I didn't get home until four in the morning that night.

74. The funniest advice I ever gave anyone was, "Lube, lube, for the love of God, lube!" And, really, it�s not what you�re thinking...

75. The last person who saw me without a shirt on was my sister.

76. I sunburn quickly and easily, and there�s really nothing I can do about it. Sunscreen just doesn�t cut it, even when applied correctly and religiously.

77. I was once sick for two years and saw nine doctors and had two under-anesthesia procedures for the problem. They never figured out what was wrong, so I ignored it and quit taking my medicines. I�m mostly okay today.

78. My favorite photo subject is Hambone. I took over eighty pictures of him during the months of May.

79. I would give up beer in a heartbeat if bars served reasonably-priced smoothies. I�m a smoothie ho for the strawberry-banana combination.

80. I was born in Riverhead (New York), moved to Humble (Texas) before I was two, moved to Huffman (Texas) when I was eight, moved to Beaumont (Texas) when I was 15, moved to Austin (Texas) when I was 17, and moved to Chicago when I was 23. I will probably move again when I�m about 25 because San Diego sounds like a place I�d want to try for a little while.

81. I�ve always wanted to learn how to surf.

82. I have 21 phone numbers in my cell phone of people I�ve met in a bar.

83. There�s one errant phone number that I don�t recall. If you know a James with the area code 405, let me know.

84. I have 12 jackets in my closet but only wear four of them. Four of the remaining eight do not belong to me, so I�d feel badly about giving them away.

85. The only piercings I have are in my ears: two regular holes in each ear.

86. I have no tattoos because I realize how fickle I am.

87. That, and I�d like to not be ruled out for a top-secret government job.

88. I�d love to be a spy or a special agent.

89. My favorite photos are generally ones that have been taken while I was kissing someone. I have one from a hotel balcony that overlooked the Gulf of Mexico, one from the fancy schmancy dinner date I described in #1, and one from the night after the Hancock Center date also described in #1.

90. I know the differences between its and it�s; your and you�re; and there, their, and they�re.

91. I embrace the semicolon.

92. I have no problem ending a sentence with a preposition. I know that it�s an old Latin rule that forced �place to put on� to read �place with which to put� when translated into English. We�re speaking English, people. Do as your dang will please.

93. I�ve learned Spanish three times.

94. I�ve forgotten Spanish three times.

95. I�ll try German next, although Japanese would also be interesting.

96. I�ve been a bridesmaid once, and I�ll do it again in October.

97. I wish I was a runner, but it�s never worked out -- no matter how in-shape I am at any given time.

98. Old Navy is probably my favorite store. That and Walgreens.

99. I hate-hate-hate cleaning the litter box.

100. I�m an attention-whore. I promise to keep writing as long as you keep reading. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com