CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Another New Year -- Whee!

2005-01-03� � 4:19 p.m.
HAPPY NEW YEAR!

It�s three days after the fact, but the feeling really is there.

I spent the last day of 2004 with my sweetie -- a truly wonderful way to spend the day since he is one extended highlight of my most-fantastic year.

Earlier in the last day of the year, Benito and I exchanged Xmas presents. This just in -- The J-Lo ring has been replaced!

Compliments of my dear, sweet boyfriend, I�m now sporting real bling. It�s blue! It�s large! It�s shiny!

I must compliment Benito�s stone-picking abilities because it�s absolutely perfect. It�s certainly not going to be strung up on a necklace and hidden behind my clothes to �hold it close to my heart� because I actually think it�s ugly.

Many praises to the man who proves daily that he really is the best thing around. He certainly has sliced bread beaten by a long shot.

After he opened a box containing a potato (I kid you not), we ventured into the suburbs to run errands and get our shop on. We returned to the city for some delivered sushi and two episodes of the Law and Order marathon on USA. Gotta love it.

At ten we got all glitzed up for the party. I had on another eye-catching get-up, complete with glitter in my hair. If I get any pictures back from those with digicams, I�ll make sure to post them.

I read through last year�s NYE summary and found where I described my midnight kiss. Benito should blush a bit. He gave me a similar kiss this year to match the one I got 365 days before, and we shared a glass of champagne.

This year�s party was not a repeat of last year�s. I didn�t fall asleep anywhere, I didn�t slur my words, and I didn�t double fist anything. A good time was had, of course.

Today I found out that there was a horrible wreck involving a taxi and a drunk driver without insurance or a valid license. The wreck was two streets away from our path home, and it killed the taxi driver and one of the passengers.

Could you imagine being responsible and safe, taking a cab home from a NYE party, only to be struck by a stupid fuck who decided to drive instead of taking advantage of the free taxis, buses, and el rides? Although our legal system is way too lenient on those who repeatedly drive drunk, it�s no reason to think that it isn�t a big deal. Hurt yourself all you wish, but when you hurt others, (in the words of KristinTracy) I�ll cut you.

Certainly someone who thinks I�m entertaining enough to read surely can�t be such a louse that he or she would drink and then drive, so enough with the preaching.

My first day of 2005 was again spent with my sweetie. We ate pizza*, watched Napoleon Dynamite**, and played Mario Party 6***.


* Dominos has a $5 special on medium one-topping pizzas right now, but you have to ask for it. They don�t just pony up the info.

** Four thumbs down. It was a free rental, and I�m still complaining. Don�t believe the commercials. It�s horrible.

*** Three and a half thumbs up. It�s a good game. The half a thumb down is because I�m a sore loser.

The second day of the year was spent watching football (him), reading Esquire (me), and eating leftover pizza. There�s not too much to expound on there.

I got a Team in Training information brochure in the mail over the weekend. Because I�m obviously not in the linking mood, TNT (as it�s called) is this group for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society that trains you to run a marathon or participate in a triathlon so long as you agree to raise money for them.

Now, I have no idea how much money they want me to raise in exchange for the use of their athletic support team. However, I can always attend their information session to find out.

On the other hand, I know that if I attend the session, I�m going to sign up once they start with the emotional appeal sell. I�m not usually up for the emotional appeal as an argument, but I�m not heartless when it comes to a reputable organization gathering funds for research and assistance.

I�ll gladly open my pocketbook for the additional tax benefits, but I�m also interested in the training since my efforts on the treadmill have been a bunch of blahs.

Does anyone know anything about this group first- or second-hand? Anyone with any experiences? Please do tell. Use the handy guestbook or email contact info above. The meeting date is fast-approaching, and I�d like to know stuff before I agree to attend.

Thanks in advance.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com