CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Yes, It's Been Three Whole Days...

2005-01-14� � 4:29 p.m.
My coworker and I noticed that when the clock ticks 2:30, the day speeds up considerably. I looked at the clock earlier today (a.k.a. The Day that Will Never End), it was only 2 p.m. I was ready to choke myself with a snack pack of raisins to take away the pain.

[sigh]


Just in case anyone cares, I�ve updated my 101 in 1001 list.

I�m moving along pretty well with that list. My next move is to finish my class (so close!) so I have free time to read again. Then I can pay off my library fines and then start reading all of the Pulitzer Prize fiction books.

Blah blah blah.

Speaking of that class, if anyone has their notes from when they took a real estate licensing class, a study guide of some sort, or some hint to how I can get through this, it would be much appreciated. I�m a bit worried about my licensing exam, and I could use all of the help I could get.


I�m now at the tail end of my real estate class -- whee! I�m 98 pages away from being finished. And since all that really remains is math, all is cool with me. With all hopes, I�ll breeze through this stuff and have an entire week to review everything I�ve learned thus far so I can feel more confident with taking the licensing test.

In a case of counting the chickens before they�ve hatched, I�ve already decided that my first commission will involve my longtime friend AZ-Amber. Either I�m going there, she�s coming here, or we�re going elsewhere.

Hiking in Phoenix? Traipsing around Chicago? Surfing lessons in San Diego? I�m a ways from collecting any money, so there�s still plenty of time to dream something up.


Speaking of AZ-Amber, go give her an atta-girl for completing the Phoenix marathon.


And speaking of marathons, the pre-training is just about back on. I don�t know if it�s naturally wearing off as it usually does or if getting cracked at the chiro on Monday and Wednesday night did something, but my back is only in slight pain.

I can mostly breathe in deeply and quickly without the wincing.

This is a good thing.

I�m ready for the workout contest to be back on.


Benito called me last night to say hey. He�s working a lot right now, so I don�t get to IM with him much. I�m also busy, so this works out all right. However, the occasional phone call is needed when there�s little interaction.

Whenever I get off of the phone with anyone, I check my phone�s counter out of curiosity. I love it when I�m shocked by the number, having no clue that I yakked for that long.

A year and a few months after the fact, I still want to sleepily talk with this man for 54 minutes about nothing.

Gotta love that.


A true breakfast of champions:


1/2 a bowl of bran flakes
1/2 a bowl of something yummy like Honey Bunches of Oats
A chunk of frozen fruit
The normal amount of soy milk added to cereal

Put in microwave for 1 minute. Stir and eat.


When you�re walking down the street and have an umbrella the size of a France, please be aware of it. I�m lucky I had an umbrella to shield me from the jerkwad who unknowingly ran his umbrella toward my head.

No stopping when he felt resistance. No turn to apologize for knocking into me.

Jerkwad!


I ran into Oz when I walked out of the snap-crackle-pop room at Wednesday night�s chiro appointment.

We made out. It was hot.

I kid, I kid. It was just a peck. But, dude, it was still hot.

Getting back to my hood, I stopped along State Street and went clothes shopping. I tried on many, many shirts at Nordstrom�s Rack with no luck and many, many pants at Old Navy without luck. Bah!

However, I did score a winter material skirt at Old Navy for $8.50, a few goodies from The Body Shop (hurry -- their eye makeup remover is only $5 instead of the usual $12!), and some odds and ends at Walgreens.

As I walked home, I thought my eyes were playing tricks on me. It appeared that across the street was a massive rain storm.

However, it wasn�t a trick at all.

Massive rain! Across the street!

I muttered an �Oh crap,� and started the two more streets home. I was soaked, of course. But at least I was home, right?


Okay, this requires its own section. I found perfect pants at Lerner New York. They were on sale for $16, and I asked the saleslady for other pairs in that size. She scoured one of half the store as I scoured another half. She only came up with a navy pair. Perfect!

Unfortunately, they were full price. I sucked it up and paid it, and they gave me a coupon for 30% off next week. Um, it looks like I�ll be returning the full-priced pants, only to re-buy them for 30% off. Whee!

Now, if only people made pants in khaki. Anyone besides Old Navy and Gap? Anyone?? I could really use a pair in khaki and in brown please.


So what�s with all the shopping? (or should I say attempted shopping??)

Knowing that my seasonal blahs are likely to sneak up, I�m trying to ward them off by doing what I can to always feel good.

A spritz of perfume. Shirts that fit well. Pants that are no less than perfect. Awesome shoes.

I�ve always wanted to have a more put-together look, and now�s my opportunity to get it. I finally feel like I�m financially recovering from my house purchase this summer. And with the new year producing great sales prices with everyone�s looming inventory counts, it�s time to spend a little on just that.

Happy shopping to me!


Why is it when I have on nail polish (very rarely) that I feel compelled to peel small bits off once it starts to peel?


Time to go home and get the weekend started. There likely won�t be any crazy stories about tonight, as I�m staying home to read for my class and do laundry.

Have a great weekend!�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com