CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

My Friends are a Bunch of Sarcastic Assholes

2003-05-22� � 5:55 p.m.
This entry is based on the letters I�ve received from various friends and my responses to their inquiries.


Hambone�s Walk

Hambone is NOT leash trained. I have walked that animal on several occasions...

Leashed trained is my dog who knows to heel, turn, stop, walk, run, sit, and stay.

If you would like an animal that "likes/enjoys" walks and car rides, get a good dog.

Cats are not leash animals, nor car animals.

Cats don't mind going in their "yards" and exploring, but they don't do walks.

Now be a good mama and don't torture your kitty. He might "think" he likes them, but remember...

You are the one with the opposable thumbs....

Rereading this, it sounds a lot harsher than it actually was intended. My friends NS and JB took turns babysitting Hambone while I skipped merrily (although frostily) through the streets of NYC for the two weeks around Xmas and the New Year. I imagine that JB took care of feeding and petting the Hammus while camped in front of the tube, wondering why the cable wasn�t working. (Muhaha -- I cancelled it before leaving for vacation!) NS was in charge of leashing up my boy and giving him some run-around time every couple days.

No, we don�t usually have anywhere in mind while we wander. We just wander. It�s a wonderful thing to put your cat on a leash and watch him roll around in outside stuff. As long as he doesn�t roll in anything that stinks, we�re both happy. We both get outdoor time to enjoy the nice weather.

Now, if only the weather were actually nice...


Traffic

I want to ask you if you like Chicago traffic better than Austin's. I've been to Chicago once to see a Cubs game and traffic sucked.

Of course the Cubs game sucked. They�re in the inferior National League and aren�t the Texas Rangers. The Texas Rangers merely stink -- If they weren�t such nice guys, they�d suck.

Oh yeah -- You were asking about the traffic...

I have no idea what the traffic is like. I ride public transportation or use my rollerblades to get around.


Playing Favorites

Hi. I really like your diary. I was wondering if it were ok to add you to my favorites?

Um, yeah. Link me baby one more time. And while you�re at it, join one of my rings. The Hambone ring sure is lonely.

As stated in the welcome note, the primary goal of this diary is to let my friends back in Texas know what�s going on with me in my new life in Chicago.

Secondary, I�d like to rise to Diaryland fame and have millions of readers before launching my new line of designer lampshades. Or maybe someone in Chicago will want a really snazzy writer of either the technical or creative type and give me a job because he or she likes my style. (And perhaps the fact that I don�t wear underwear won�t hurt either!)

Okay. There aren�t really lampshades to be had. But I�d like to be powerful enough in the diary community that I can plug stuff and people will comply.

Or that people will just think I�m cool.

Yeah... I�m tired of getting by on my smashing good looks alone. [smirk]

The only way that people will know that I�m out here and writing what I�m told are mildly amusing tales about what I do in my everyday life is if you provide me some linkage.

And in honor of our craptacular Mayor Daley and the oh-so-respectable past of Chicago�s politicians:

Link early, link often, link ChicagoJo!


Location, Location, Location

Gold Coast - man you must be rolling in the bucks - great area.

Although I�m currently unemployed, the big bucks I made in the past are enough to keep me living in my posh little apartment.

If you would like to pay me big bucks again, I�ll even invite you to a rooftop party at my fancy-schmancy residence.


Weather

It was 77 F here today. My feet got cold. I like it when it's 78-79 F. but what can I do???

Bite you and your little dog too.

Although it�s *still* cold here and I�m thoroughly sick of it, I�ll ask how your 50 days in a row of 100+ degree weather is in August.

Remember: If I�m cold, I�ll put on another sweater. Once you're naked and under a fun, there�s nothing more you can do to cool off.


Butt Germs

If you aren�t concerned with butt germs, why do you freak out about the grime on the el?

Very good question... Very simple answer: I don�t eat with my butt.

Also, if everyone else is a squatter, there aren�t many extraneous butt germs to be found on the toilet seat.

I�ll take my chances. [grin]


Clothes

Can we see pictures from the Coyote Ugly audition?

No.


No Clothes

Then can we see pictures of the bathing suits?

Again, no.


Now go join one of my diaryrings and sign my guestbook. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com