CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Lunch Runs and Benito

2005-09-20� � 7:00 p.m.
For the past two days I�ve made some changes in my daily running routine.

As in I�m actually running, har har!

Ahem.

The marathon is officially looming. Billboards are posted in tribute to the �40,000 heroes� running on October 9th. I�m getting a few emails per week from different local running groups giving me the countdown while pitching products I need while running the big 26.2. My friends are saying weird things like �You are an inspiration� when mention of the day comes up.

I faced the facts yesterday, swallowed some fear, and realized that I have roughly two and a half weeks to become a real marathoner. Things just weren�t working out right for everything I�m about to put my body through.

Since waking up early to run isn�t working, and running after work keeps getting interrupted by the 1,000 other things I have to do each night before darkness falls, I�m now running in the middle of the workday.

It�s admittedly a royal pain in the ass to run during the day since I have to walk home, change, run, shower, change, make myself presentable, grab lunch, and then head right back to work. It�s not like Benito going for a run midday where he merely changes clothes in the bathroom and doesn�t bother with showering or changing after his thirty minute jaunt.

I�m not a boy. And in his case, I�m not a boy who works with nothing but a bunch of other boys.

Yesterday it took me 1.25 hours to run for only 25 minutes. Today it took 1.5 hours to run for 32 minutes.

I really need to find some way to cut this down.

It looks like I�ll have some practice, as this really is the only workable solution to my lack of running.

Argh.

Tonight I�m going to Benito�s at a reasonable hour. How is that, you ask, since he�s working 20-hour days?

Lo and behold, it�s over.

My boyfriend�s back! Hey-na, hey-na! My boyfriend�s back!

The project he�s been working on since before we met has been submitted to those who accept those sorts of things, and his work on this is done unless something gets kicked back for a teeny amount of fixing.

Can I get an Amen?

Amen!

Now off I go. The brown line beckons!

Have a great night! I know I will!�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com