CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Privacy, Hammus, Ray, and Weather

2005-03-02� � 5:17 p.m.
I�m about to break up with hotmail. Seriously.

You could imagine my surprise when I opened my inbox this morning and saw messages from two guys from long before I even knew that a sushi-eating, Tivo-watching, head-massaging, most-thoughtful-acting man named Benito even existed.

I never saves emails from anyone but Benito, so there�s no way that this is some folder snafu where hotmail is confusing the �Inbox� folder for the �Guys I Never Talk With� folder. These are emails I deleted up to 20 months ago.

There are plenty of emails from my girlfriends in there too, but the first few emails were from guys I barely thought about when we were in communication, nonetheless who I would think about now. It really just freaked me out that this stuff would resurface.

Hotmail staff got an email asking them where exactly my deleted messages go and what would cause messages deleted nearly 600 sunsets ago to suddenly reappear.

For a service that recently only gave 2MB of space to the users, it seems odd that messages from users would be kept on a server somewhere. I�ll keep everyone updated, as I�m sure many of you use hotmail and would like to also know what happens when you hit the delete icon.


Last night I went to Helga�s house to pick up Hambone and have dinner with her. Although it�s always a pleasant evening, it�s impossible to get out of there at a decent hour. Combine that with generally stirring conversation, and I know that I�m not getting to sleep at any time reasonable.

Last night I left her place at 11:30 and went home with a brain moving a hundred miles a minute. I started watching Ray earlier that day, so I finished it.

Come 2:30 in the morning, I was still up and at �em. No good.

I moved through my bedtime routine and even took a few minutes to write down why were I Ray Charles� wife, he would have found himself �accidentally� falling down the stairs before our first child was born.

He was a grade-A fucker in his younger years -- musical genius or not. I simply have no patience for any of that. The end.

I�m sure he turned out to be a very nice older man once he put down the smack and stopped laying the pipe elsewhere, but was it really worth the years of knowing he was essentially leading two lives and didn�t give a crap about the one that should have mattered?

If I were a fan before, I�d have a hard time being a fan now. Argh.

In brighter news, Jamie Foxx was fantastic. The kid who played younger Ray and his mom was also amazing. Way to go casting directors!

Enough about that movie.

Blockbuster�s Netflix will send me something new soon enough.


The C&C4ACS is going well. I�m just about tapped outta $3 bills, folks. If you�re going to complete my part of the fundraiser, please do so by the end of the week so I don�t have to keep reading my stats to see who�s coming from where.

Again, if you�re interested in throwing in your own dollars, click here for the donations page.

Everything�s been much appreciated, so thanks for the clicking and linking help so far.


At work I�m 38 floors up a high-rise building, overlooking south west of town from the middle of downtown. Outside looks absolutely lovely today -- all clear and sunshine for miles. However, WeatherBug tells a different story.

17 degrees. 10 mph wind. 4 degree wind chill.

What in the hell?! It�s not been this cold but for three days out of the year so far.


Okay. I�ve resorted to talking about weather. It�s obviously time to go.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com