CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Sun Shiny Day

2003-04-18� � 6:51 p.m.
Strange search engine hit of the day:

crystal toilet picture


So, yes. I�m in a better mood today. It�s amazing what a night of beer and some new friends will do to one�s disposition.

I ended up at Fox Lake, about an hour and a half away from Chicago and ten minutes from the Wisconsin border. Although I would have liked to give my peeps from America�s dairyland a shout-out, I was just as far from them at that geographic point as I am in Chicago. [sigh] No lovin� for the boys from the state that chose a badger as its state animal.

Last night I went to Wrigleyland and met up with this promotions lady to see about getting some work at the bars around my area. A baby-t with a booze name on it, two hours of handing out samples, and $50 for my time! Woo-hoo! Sounds good to me. It�s easy, easy cash -- The best kind!

So I met with some of the other applicants and they ended up being pretty cool. These two girls were on their way out, and they invited me to tag along. [shrug]

I know, I know. Please don�t get all motherly on me. Not only did I talk with strangers, I also accompanied them far away from my home.

But everything turned out okay, so you can stop your worrying. These two chicas seem to be promotions experts with the hook-ups with several agencies. [nodding] I could end up with a lot more than the occasional Captain Morgan�s and Crown Royal gigs after all. Cash is good...

So we went to this po-dunk bar and shook our tushes while drinking free beer. Sometimes being a girl is nice... [grin]

I got home before sunrise and then slept well into the afternoon. I am truly the queen of sloths. Beer-drinking sloths, that is. Ahh -- Slothful living...


In other news that makes me less grumpy...

Good stuff: This company called me today to do a phone interview about being their marketing manager. Their previous manager set up the marketing infrastructure, and they�re looking for someone with tech knowledge and strong writing skills to come in and kick some ass. Apparently marketing can be learned, but the skills I have are inherent.

The bad news: They�re an hour away by train. A helluva commute, but I may take a dry run up there to check it out and see if this is the right company for me. Although I�ve decided that I�m draining the energy required for an effective job search more than I�m draining my accounts, I want to ensure that I don�t get in with a company that I don�t want to work for.

Insert optimism here: My cell phone is FREE until 9 a.m., so I can always get a little laptop Internet action going, using that commute to update BQ and at least check my business-related emails before reaching the office.

Good news item numero dos: Another company contacted me about being their marketing communications assistant. Cool, cool, cool.

Bad news: They pay roughly double what I�d make working for any of the museums, but about $10k less than my desired minimum salary.

Another spattering of optimism: But they want to talk with me. Who knows what I can wrangle outta them. Maybe they want a senior communications guru and they just don�t know it yet!

Good news, like blind mice and porridge-eating bears, comes in threes: I may be out of rice milk, but I wasn�t out of yeast. Another homemade pizza for dinner tonight!

Nope, no bad news there. I like vegan pizza!�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com