CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Bye-bye Boyfriend Box

2004-05-13� � 7:14 p.m.
A couple months ago I did pre-Spring cleaning. I came across my boyfriend box. Five years worth of stuff filled this pink and gold box -- photos, mementos, ticket stubs, and letters. I reduced the box to a few printed emails, a single letter written in the summer of 1997, and a couple photos.

It was painless. It�s been more than two years since then, and I�m not one to sweeten the way things were. We simply split because we had no reason to remain together, having changed so much over the five years we were together. We were together because we�d always been. And although I did love him, I have no overly romanticized thoughts about our time together.

When I opened my crafts box, I came across a whole schlew of scrapbook materials from the short amount of time I spent pretending to be a scrapbook maker. I completed only a handful of pages and had the other pages outlined for the other trinkets sitting in labeled plastic baggies. More accurately than the boyfriend box, this seemingly organized crafts box held so much more.

Trips to San Antonio, Galveston, New Orleans, London, and New York. Brochures from the five apartments we lived in in just as many years. Photos with friends from the many, many birthday parties, graduations, and other celebrations.

What do you do with all of that stuff?

Truth be told, I threw 98% of it away. I kept a few pictures with friends, a couple from when we were just friends, and gave him an envelope�s worth of his own copies.

What have others done with boyfriend boxes? Let the guestbook know.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com