CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Random Snippets of Brain Dumpage

2003-09-21� � 11:28 a.m.
Yesterday was a most wonderful day. I woke up nice and early that morning and headed to this science-y event where these engineers I met in a bar built a replica of the Wright Brother�s plane and were trying to fly it in celebration of the 100 year anniversary.

I showed up just about on-time and saw exactly what I expected to see: A bunch of people with kids. Now, I understand that people tae their kids places at 9 a.m. -- That's just how it works. But man was I all skeeved out.

Kids. I love �em. I really do. But what I hate most about events like this is the parents.

Do you need to make a poo-poo? Should never be uttered by anyone over age 3. It�s just wrong. The cooing and canoodling and fussing over how cute someone�s Baby Gap overalls was too much. Alas I am without a press pass, so I found a sunny spot away from the stroller walkway and went back to reading my book on small pox.

Ahhh... There�s nothing like reading about smallpox in the morning while surrounded by kids and their germ-y hands. Good stuff...

I don�t know if the guys ever got the plane up since I left at 10:30 for my next appointment.


I hopped the ghetto bus to the ghetto el to downtown. I enjoyed my typical lunch (a Taco Bell bean burrito without cheese or onions and two extra packets of mild sauce) and admired the lovely afternoon sitting alone at the Daley Plaza. I sat with my feet over the fountain, eating my 99-cent vegan goodness, knowing what my next move would be.

I walked a few blocks up and over, and I waited outside the Anti-Cruelty Society until they finally opened the doors at noon.

I made small talk with a very pleasant man who was damn determined to get the friendly Siamese cat with the bluest eyes ever. Since we weren�t after the same kitties, we blocked the doors from the others who showed up a mere few minutes before opening with hopes of undoubtedly snagging our cats. We didn�t care how young and cute you were, if you flashed us the �pretty-pretty-please� eyes, or even shed a tear. These cats were ours, and we were going to get them.

As soon as the doors opened and we signed in, we rushed to their cages, pointed to our respective babies, and exclaimed, �Mine!� in our best four-year-old voices.

And so the kitties became ours.

My baby was wide-awake and ready for attention, rushing over to the front of her cage and exclaiming, �MEOWWWW!� When I finished with the application and getting everything in order, I went back out to say goodbye to her and she was asleep in her litterbox, all curled up and looking cute.

I already love her so much.


I talked with family people late last week and got a Maw Maw update. She had her angiogram last Wednesday, and it revealed that she had no blockage whatsoever. Apparently what she thought was a heart attack was some other ailment -- likely an effect of stress.

I talked with her the night before her test, and she was so tired but very aware of what all was going on, despite the medications. She turned 82 that Wednesday. What a better birthday present than to be told your ticker seems to be in tip-top shape.


I planned on having a �Name My Kitty� contest, but I already picked out a name. When you see pictures tomorrow, you�ll learn it then.

Oh the suspense...


1. Savings :: Account
2. On :: Fire
3. Wire :: Tap
4. Word :: Perfect
5. Bladder :: Infection
6. Missing :: Link
7. Side :: Splitting
8. Window :: Pane
9. Digit :: Drunk-dial
10. Swirl :: Hambone�s markings �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com