CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Running Stuff and Craig's List

2006-04-18� � 4:20 p.m.
This weekend was a busy one, although I also got a lot of rest in. I successfully became Catholic, and I�ll have to later tell the tale that I�ll submit to the canonization committee upon my father�s death. I�ll have to leave out the bit about how he called me from work today to ask if bullshit was one word, two, or hyphenated. I�m always glad to give a consult when needed...

Catholicism, my dad, and a seven-hour practice for this weekend�s upcoming show aside, all is going well. Since last writing, there has been a change on the running plan. I will not be running the 10-mile race in my triple-race weekend. Now before you couch potatoes call me a wiener for shirking out of this, allow me to explain.

Last October when I ran the marathon, one of my very good friends from way back in college stayed with me that week and also ran the race. Apparently sometime along the way I told him that I�d run the Salt Lake City marathon, partaking in a return in hospitality.

So instead of running 3.5 miles on Thursday, 10 miles on Saturday, and 6.2 miles on Monday, I�m running 3.5 on Thursday, 6.2 on Monday, and 26.2 the following Saturday.

How�s that for an endurance challenge?

Last night after realizing that the SLC marathon date was quickly approaching, I went for a long run to test the waters. I figured I�d just run until I was tired of running, but that wasn�t to be. One hour and 42 minutes into my run, I got really, really hungry. I�d expended nearly 1,000 calories in my 10-mile jot, so that was a sufficient-enough reason for me to stop at that point. I really think I could have kept going all night long.

Running this distance was quite nice since I hadn�t run double digits since last October�s marathon. What�s even better is that I ran the distance while maintaining my pace. I was surprised by that, yes. Who knew I was in that good of shape?!

On a positive note, my previously grumpy knee felt and feels no ill effects from running 10 miles on Chicago�s finest concrete.

(Concrete has no give, so it�s harder on your body while running. I train on concrete because all races are on concrete. No need to train in other conditions if my body has to be able to withstand the pounding.)

Anyway, enough with the fitness talk. I�m sure some of you are wondering what happened to the drinker and go-er out-er in me.

In funny news that may lead to some drinking and going out, I�ve spent the past day and a half responding to a personal ad I placed on Craig�s List as a joke. I posted something about a particular floor in my work building having all of the building�s attractive guys, and the responses have been hilarious. I have a friend in HR who is looking these people up as I get emails, making it even funnier that I have someone on the inside.

Muhahaha.

If nothing else, I�ve got two people I wouldn�t mind going to a happy hour with.

Now don�t go thinking that I�m available for real, live dates, y�all. Happy hours are just happy, so I�m up for that.

I got to work early today, so I�m skipping out now. Hope everyone has a great Tuesday night.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com