CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Another Race, Short Skirts, Lots of BBQs, Fixing Up the House, and Debunking Horoscopes

2005-05-31� � 5:22 p.m.
Yesterday�s race went pretty well. The south side neighborhood was beautiful, and the neighborhood folks were awesome. Everyone was in lawn chairs in their yards with boom boxes playing, kids handing out cups of water and asking for high-fives, and their sprinklers set up to spray the runners.

The runners were lame, quiet and so serious. Considering that I�m the one to WOO when we go into an underpass and shout encouragement as we pass another mile marker, I was shocked to hear NOTHING.

When we reached the 6 mile marker (a 10k is 6.2 miles), I yelled something like, �Hey runners! We�re almost there! Woo!� and I was met with silence.

However, the fans in their yards quickly compensated for it and WOOed like crazy.

Once a cheerleader, always a cheerleader. (eye roll)

Speaking of skirts, the temperature has finally risen enough to sport my minis again. Had Benito just waited a week, he�d have gotten an eyeful (wink-wink).

No more long-sleeved cotton shirt topped with a short-sleeved cotton shirt! No more regular ol� jeans! No more sneakers! It�s all about little shirts, short skirts, and sandals now that the mercury has hit 75.

For the past two days, I�ve had it goin� on. Not that I�m begging for everyone to take a gander at the splendor that is my legs, mind you. Really, though. I prefer skirts and sundresses to shorts much of the time. They�re really so much cooler to wear since there�s nothing blocking the breezes.

So, my weekend. Two races. Four BBQs. That about sums it up.

I�m still shocked that I woke up yesterday pain-free and ready to go. I did 16.2 miles in all, and I�m pretty proud of that. (Note to self: Write an entry about running sometime.)

The BBQs were something to take up the time. So be it.

The first was at the yacht club that I mentioned previously. The people were pretty pretentious, but it made for a good laugh.

The second BBQ was someone�s cousin�s college graduation party. I talked with some random guy from New York(ish) for much of the time since everyone else was related and catching up with one another. Someone�s uncle insisted that I have his specialty drink. The vodka, Malibu rum, and pineapple juice was surprisingly smooth. Luckily, though, no matter how strong a drink is, having one spread over four hours has no effect.

The third BBQ I attended was a Wicker Park punk rocker party. The guy who owned the place was awesome, but everyone else was pretty sad. When you�re 17 years old and dying your hair unnatural colors, shaving the side of your head and leaving a bleach blonde rat tail, or wearing ripped up fishnets under your all-black ensemble, I�ll overlook it. But when you�re 35 and doing the same, it�s just sad.

I�m all about people feeling like rock stars. And everyone�s entitled to their own sense of fashion. However, punker goth just doesn�t fly when you�re an actual adult.

Second that with the looks I was getting for wearing a pink t-shirt with a grey skirt and flippy sandals... I look NORMAL!! Quit looking at me like I�m the party�s freak!!

Needless to say, my presence at the punk rock BBQ was short-lived.

The last BBQ was actually a good amount of fun. My friend Happy and I drove out to the burbs. Since we were already out there, we stopped at Target -- the store where I fit the demographic completely and want damn near everything they offer. We somehow got out of there with only one impulse purchase each. (She got some $15 shoes, and I bought $3 worth of stickers.)

The BBQ was held by some of her friends from high school, and they were all really pleasant people. We sat around a campfire, turned all sorts of flammable items into mini infernos, and just had good conversation. I was invited back for the 4th of July, and it�s an invitation I intend to keep.

In other news, I finally got some bar stools for my kitchen�s island. Saturday will be one year to the day that I closed on my condo, and I intend to get a few things done by then. The stools have been ordered, so there�s nothing else I can do there. I have to change a light bulb in the kitchen. It involves a big ladder, so I�ve put it off with hopes that someone taller would get around to it -- NO MORE! I will do some paint touch-up here and there. I want to get a black full-length mirror and turn it sideways for over my bed. And then I have to buy a drill and some L-brackets to affix my cheapy (but cute) headboard to my bed frame.

Done by Saturday? It�s do-able.

If you haven�t already noticed, I handle stress by keeping really, really busy. The two races, multiple BBQs, and a Law and Order marathon helped all weekend.

Tonight I�m helping someone move a couch and following that up with dinner. Tomorrow I�m going sailing with the snobs at the yacht club. Thursday is my late night at the gym. And I think Friday night will be spent at a fancy party at the museum. Saturday, Saturday, Saturday -- my usual date night. Something will fill you before I know it. Have no fear...

Add all of these with the required housework and a full running schedule, and I�ll be sufficiently occupied. Now I have to work on getting next week taken care of!

For the rest of the summer, I have a couple trips planned. One friend is insisting on going to Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin. I don�t understand the appeal, but I�m game for the road trip. I oddly enough know a few people there through random evenings out and about. My cell phone has long ago been purged of those numbers, but two nights in the small town leaves a possibility that I�ll see one of the four people I know. No big deal either way.

Another trip planned is either to Austin or to Vegas. We can�t decide yet, but the outcome would be about the same for either place...

In other news, my horoscope today sucks:

You and someone important to you need some serious time alone, and you need it right now. You know it and they know it. The good news is that you can both arrange it, no matter how last-minute the requests are, if you choose just the right moment, turn on the charm and ask -- okay, beg -- nicely. There isn't any bad news, either. You may have some hoops to jump through when you get back, but you'll be in such a good mood that it won't matter.

I�m not one for horoscopes, but I still read them occasionally when I pull up my Yahoo portal and am flipping through there. Benito doesn�t need a phone call. He needs either by the face (will explain sometime later) or a good shaking.

I�ll explain this horoscope by saying that I needed to seriously talk with my dad after the lady at Sears didn�t know shit about voltage abilities in her selection of drills when I inquired about needing something to fix my house stuff.

All right. Off for home so I can get started on my house projects.

G�nite all.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com