CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Sweet-Sweet-Sweetening the Deal

2003-07-10� � 9:57 p.m.
Since transitioning to Diet Coke, I�ve been a low-calorie sweetener junkie. The little pink and blue packets give me the boost I need. Like one of those monkeys who dance when the man cranks his organ grinder, I�d gladly don a Shiners hat and a goofy vest for the oh-so-sweet artificial goodness the packets provide.

And today, while filling my glass with hot water to release my hippie tea�s goodness, it caught my eye. There, in my peripheral vision, was the motherload -- a large amount of pink and blue packets hidden in a bin�s shadow.

Screw the tea�s brain-boosting power. Brain cancer, can�t think straight, confusion, headaches, inability to concentrate, memory loss.

Forget the immune system boost. Abdominal pain, breathing difficulties, death, infection susceptibility, rashes, tremors.

Dismiss the supposed body-slimming features. Bloating, excessive thirst or hunger, swallowing pain, weight gain.

And let�s not overlook how sexy the hippie tea man was. Impotency or sexual problems, menstrual problems or changes.

The pink. The blue. Their friendly no-calorie granules. They call to me. They know I desire them. They want me to consume them, and I gladly do. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com