CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

The Entry Where My Little Brother Creams His Pants

2003-09-24� � 10:03 a.m.
As background information, I have this way of meeting minor celebrities and getting to hang out with them.

There was this Ben Folds show where he toured with a band, and I took the drummer and guitar player out for breakfast afterwards. I hung out with Sn�z (the guitarist) at Magnolia Caf� and ate the best gingerbread pancakes ever. Sn�z was absolutely lovely and a joy to be around. He even introduced me to Ben�s mom (poor sweetie was so tired and ready to go back to the Holiday Inn) and got me a poster autographed by the band members that I had auctioned off at the American Red Cross. It was a swell night.

I�ve also hung out with various minor league baseball players from the Texas farm system. I brought baby presents to the field when one player I had grown particularly fond of had his second son, met various well tanned fianc�s who followed their beefcake men since the age of 15 and now were sitting pretty on multimillion dollar signing bonuses, met countryfolk moms and dads who were so damn proud of their babies making it that far towards their dreams. The guys were all really cool, and I especially love seeing some of them play in the big leagues now, knowing that they�re great people who deserve $800,000 salaries at age 24.

Then there was the day that I met the Bastard Sons of Johnny Cash. Mark was super-cool when I asked to buy a CD off of him, and my friends ended up hanging out with the band all night. Because it was the last night of the tour, the guys were throwing celebratory back tequila shots. I was a non-drinker at this point, so I offered to drive them back to their hotel. I drove the tour van full of these guys, their equipment, and my friends, managed to knock over a bunch of trashcans at Stubb�s, hung out at the hotel for a while, and then cabbed it back to my car and headed home. They were a lovely group of men, and it was fun to hear about their musician lifestyle.

So that�s the list of semi-celebrities that I�ve hung out with. I�d say it�s a pretty nice showing. The guys may not be the richest or most famous celebrities around -- most people wouldn�t oooh and aaah over these stories -- but I got in some excellent quality time with some great people.

However, last night I got in with some quality with grade-A celebrities. I won�t say much because they were actually really cool guys, but I did make a blowjob joke to Derek Jeter and swoon over Jason Giambi.

Allow me to say Jason was so friendly that he has officially snuffed my crush on Jeff Bagwell.

Sorry Jeff. You really should have visited me when I was a mere half mile from your new pad while I was visiting my parents back in August. I will add you back to the list if you come up here, feed me peeled grapes, and fan me with palm leaves. (Note to self: Publicize THE LIST.)

So that was my night. Drinks at an obnoxious club with a couple of nice guys. Very cool. Very cool indeed. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com