CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Social and Nervous Fluttering

2007-01-17� � 3:32 p.m.
I�m having more social activities in the next few days than I have in this entire book-reading, nose-blowing, weather-eschewing month, and it�s already pumping warm Texas-like blood through my veins. I�m by nature a very social creature, and I tend to shrivel and wilt and subsequently forget this when I sequester myself.

Tonight I have a dinner with the girls. It�s a tequila-tasting party with the chef throwing together fancy appetizers and a family-style dinner and dessert. The last time I attended this event, we somehow ended up in Boystown afterwards, and there might or might not be a cell phone photo that got sent out of me holding a very large, hot pink vibrator. Such is the way events go when there�s tequila involved.

Ask Jamie and Officer Tony about my first Margarita Tuesday, ahem...

Anyway, after tonight�s ridiculousness, my Thursday is filled with something I�m very excited about. Body Works 2 is coming to Chicago, and there�s an invite-only exhibit reception that has my name on the list. The friend who invited me said that since I�m giving the thumbs down to men right now, I might as well return to my money-grubbing ho ways and mingle with donors and doctors.

I kid, I kid.

But the event sounds like fun. I get to dress up, wear pearls and heels, talk with strangers, and see the exhibit without shelling out $30 and standing around with tourists shouting, �I see his balls!�

On Friday I�m attending a fundraiser for the American Lung Association with many of my fabulous chorus friends. It�s a house party with a cover, and the host�s company has agreed to match anything chipped in. A good cause and good company really can�t be beat.

As for Saturday, I have dinner plans near my house with some people I haven�t seen in forever. These low-key weekend events are perfect since I�ve gotta get my butt in gear on Saturday and Sunday for long runs.

I�m meeting the fabulous Nadine both afternoons (it�s too cold to run in the morning) to run. I�m not too concerned with the seven miles on Saturday, but Sunday�s follow-up of 11 miles is giving me a little panic. It�s not that 11 miles is especially daunting, but my eyes are unnecessarily bugged out about it. I might have to do the 11-mile run is first just to get it over with and make me not be such a whiner.

Do you think it�s a sign that whiner and wiener have so many similar letters?

Speaking of being a wiener, I�m doing something a little out of the ordinary in two Sundays: I�m auditioning for a singing role in the upcoming chorus show. I�ve got �Audition for something,� written on my list of things to do, so I might as well cross it off in a place where they�ll smile and nod at my efforts and then never ever tell anyone or me if I stank it up.

I can audition for dance parts all day long and not give a blink to it. I�m completely confident in my slightly-above-average abilities there. If there�s a dance form that I don�t already know, I know that I�ll pick it up in mere moments without issue. If they need something hip-hop, I�m shakin� it. If they need something flow-y, I�ll be all bendy. If they need anything Latin-based, I have hips that don�t lie. But you want me to sing? *gulp*

Ah well. If I get a part, at least no one can accuse me of sleeping with someone for the role. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com