CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Drinking My Friday Away

2003-06-30� � 4:33 p.m.
Sorry for no updates lately, but it�s been oddly busy around here. Hey -- It was the weekend. And since there was so much going on this one, updating wasn�t the highest priority of mine. I offer my apologies to those of you wondering if I fell off a balcony while in my absence. I assure you that I am certainly alive and well.

Because I didn�t update throughout the weekend, I�ve broken this entry up a bit. Follow the links for each day. I�ll try to do a better job of updating as I go instead of writing up mammoth entries each Monday afternoon.


Friday was the usual all-you-can-drink fest. At the initial happy hour I managed to attract every uninteresting driveling fool around. One guy actually used, �I�m looking to do a shot. Do you have any suggestions?� as a pick-up line.

I decided to appease him by talking with him, but I had to at least gauge whether or not he would put up with my being an asshole to him. If I�m gonna talk with someone boring, I have to find some way to entertain myself.

�Well, if you�re too big a wuss to not know what kind of shots you like, stick with a kamikaze. That�s the token shot of seventeen year old girls nationwide, and you�re certain to handle it.�

And yet he didn�t go away.

What do you do for a living? I�m a hooker. I�ve always appreciated those with an entrepreneurial spirit. When did you move here? Yesterday. Wow -- You're really brave. What are your hobbies? Drinking. That�s really admirable. Do you like kittens? Unless I�m spreading them on my toast with some blackberry jam, they�re awful. That�s such unique perspective. You�re just special, interesting, and fantastic, and if I keep complimenting you, maybe I�ll get somewhere.

I introduced him to some annoying girl who was following around Ryan and we made our way to the bar to grab a seat closer to the pouring action.

Afterwards we ended up at The Apartment, this club we always seem top hit up after drinking our $10 worth. There I ordered an extra dirty martini that ended up being too dirty. I sent my friend BC to the bar for some water, and he came back with a plain ol� martini to mix up with it. Dirty, rotten boy.

I finished one and a half of those before sauntering back up to the bar for another round and something a little less salty -- ya know, like a shot of water from the Red Sea. There I met a group of guys buying Jaeger shots like they were ten-cent candies. And since you can�t get enough ten-cent candies or free Jaeger shots, I stuck around with them. Lorinda was sent to come and find me, but she stayed with me once she got a couple Jaeger shots.

I ended up lounging on one of the sofas with who was probably the unluckiest guy ever. He had been hit by a car and had a broken knee and two broken arms. I held a drink for him and we laughed at what a dweeb he looked like.

Note to all: If you�re feeling bad and you want no sympathy whatsoever, hook up with me. However, I�ll be pissed if you ooze on me. No oozers please.

Lorinda and I ended up going to some other club to meet some guy she met the night before. He ended up being a crap head, so we left. I walked to Clark to pick up the #22 bus. Luckily I kept on the move because I would have been waiting for a bus that never came. I made it home safely, and fell fast asleep. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com