CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Good Stuff All Over

2004-07-02� � 4:32 p.m.
When�s the last time you had several pretty cool things happen in one day?

Well, today�s been one of those days for me.

I recently mentioned that I joined Mary Kay. I�m not going to push products on everyone I meet -- I'm in it for the discount I get and the tax write-offs I make. If my friends (or any of you) want to take advantage of my discount, just ask to join my mailing list. If you�re gonna buy makeup, lotion, and face cleaner anyway, need to get your mom a present, or whatever, you might as well get a discount.

No pressure. No big deal. Right?

I placed my first order earlier this week, getting me a bunch of stuff that I�ve wanted to try for a while and replaced all of my current products that need replacing anyway. On Monday I�ll get a hot pink box full of my stuff, a bunch of samples that I ordered, and whatever else it is that the company throws in for free.

My director (the woman who answers my questions and �mentors� me) sends out emails each week, and she recently sent a few out with rewards for making orders on certain dates. So according to her emails, I just earned myself a faux pearl necklace and earrings.

ROCK ON! Jo likes jewelry!

Well, to try to get people to *really* place orders by the end of the month, she also sent out a mail saying that for every $100 wholesale you spend, she�ll enter your name into a drawing for $100.

Guess who won!

So there are all of these Independent Beauty Consultants out there running full-out businesses, ordering a few thousand in products each month, and getting their name in the drawing several times. And little ol� me orders some fun eye shadows, new powder that I needed anyway, lotion samples, and a bunch of lipsticks and wins the $100 cash prize.

This Mary Kay thing is pretty cool.


After looking on eBay for a few days and being outbid because I cannot sit at the computer for all hours of the night waiting for auctions to end, I totally lucked out the other afternoon. I was looking at the Nokia 3360s for AT&T Wireless when I saw there was one about to end that was at a low price.

I scanned the ad quickly. Used. Not in box. Includes a charger. No ridiculous shipping fee.

PERFECT!

21 seconds left.

DOH!

I got my bid in at the last second and made my Paypal payment immediately. Ta-da!

So I�m walking through the lobby, and the door lady stops me, saying that I have a package.

YAY!

It ends up that the guy I ordered from lives in Chicago, so he pocketed the shipping charges and brought the phone to my house instead. (Yes, creepy... At least I have a 24-hour door person to intercept these sorts of things.) I charged the phone and tested it at my house, and wouldn�t you know that I have perfect reception there.

All bars a-glowin�!

And now, while I�m up 38 floors here at work, there are two bars of reception.

This old school digital service friggin� beats AT&T�s GSM supposedly uber network. Note to all: If you live in downtown Chicago, AT&T�s GSM service WILL NOT work! Do not get it!

I also found out that the few ten dollar bills I spent on the new phone won�t completely go to waste. The next time I�m in Houston, I�ll hit an AT&T store and get my mom some pay-per-minute service since she doesn�t have a cell phone or express any interest in getting one. With the pay-per-minute, she�ll at least have it in the car for emergencies.

So, whee! Everyone�s happy!


It�s lunchtime. I�m gonna go find something happy to continue this mood...


Yesterday I hit the taste with Ozwald and Bethany9 to catch the free Melissa Etheridge concert. We couldn�t see the stage for shit, but there was plenty more to watch.

I learned a few things though:

-- TV tells lies. There aren�t any cute lesbians.

-- If someone has a body that needs coverage, she�s the most likely to let it all hang out.

-- I only know one Melissa Etheridge song.

-- As soon as you make fun of a bunch of overweight cops, saying that there�s no way they could render themselves useful if it came to chasing a robber down, two very attractive cops will walk by. One was Bethany�s type, and the other was Oz�s type. I have a Benito who is my type, so we�re all happy.

-- 80 degree weather feels no different than 100 degree weather.

For lunch today, I went to use up my leftover tickets and wander around. As long as people weren�t idiots---not walking hand-in-hand-in-hand, not randomly stopping, and keeping their twelve kids in a tight herd---all was cool.

There was a nice breeze, I spent the exact number of tickets I had left, and I only got one dribble of food on me.

GO ME!


I didn�t realize until very recently that this was a holiday weekend.

On Wednesday I covered for a friend on her softball team (and got an invitation to come back anytime after going 1-for-2, knocking in a run, and playing some awesome second base), and some guy asked me what I was doing this weekend. I thought he was hitting on me and was a bit puzzled since his girlfriend was sitting on the other side of me, but it seems that I need to deflate my pretty little head and start using what�s inside it.

So, this weekend. The plans.

Tonight I�m taking Mick out to celebrate his 21st b-day. It�s also Lorinda�s going away party, so we�re making the most of our time. An all-you-can-drink has been arranged at a local pub, so it should be a good time. After we�re finished with that, who knows where we�ll end up.

We (Mick and I) were going to meet Benito and his peeps for (drunken) Whirlyball, but his peeps suck for being noncommittal. The night will likely end up with ass-shaking, as that�s what usually goes on with the AYCD action.

On Saturday I�m kicking Mick out sometime in the a.m. and then will run my errands before Benito picks me up to go to the �burbs. We�re gonna finish up my living area, hopefully getting my TV stand from Ikea. After that, we�ll (he�ll) get the TV into my place and we�ll (he�ll) get that all set up.

And then comes the matter of the bedroom furniture...

The bedroom furniture that has a price tag that reaches a number with a comma three spaces to the left of the decimal.

The bedroom furniture that will look fantastic once I get it.

The bedroom furniture that won�t be delivered until August.

Not happy.

So we�ll see if I concede and get bedroom furniture with that ridiculous wait time, if I find something else, or if I say fuck it and just keep the mattress on the metal frame and the TV tray as a bed stand.

One of those is out of the question though, so shopping it is. Whee!


My best friend went to visit our little hometown a few weeks ago, and she just sent me pictures of my nephew.

I get pictures of the kid occasionally, as my mom finds a holiday or a reason to get his photo snapped at a studio every two months or so. I know what he looked like at birth, one month old, two months old, five months old, and eight months old. And now that he�s approaching a year, I assumed he looked pretty similar to the eight month picture, but with bigger cheeks and more hair.

Well, the latest pictures look nothing like I imagined he�d look like. He�s actually a rather good-looking kid with round cheeks and bright blue eyes. One picture I have is of him eating a pine needle, and the other is him giving the camera a face while my mom holds him.

I have to order airfare in the near future to help hold a first b-day shindig. I already started looking at presents. It�s very likely that I�ll get him a pool with a slide, a sandbox, a rocking horse, or one of those bike-like cars where he can scoot around in it.

I don�t know him very well (I�m just told that he�s funny and really friendly), but that won�t stop me from getting him a cool present for his first b-day.


All right. I�ve gotta finish up this project before I head out. Super Aunt Jo heading out!

Have a spectacular weekend! �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com