CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Go 'Stros! And Other Stuff

2004-10-07� � 5:01 p.m.
After Benito's faux pas of not calling to tell me that Britney Spears supposedly got married while I was in Vegas, he's since changed his ways. This morning, the first thing he IMed to me was that there was Britney news. Just another reason why Benito is great...

Today I have Poe's Angry Johnny in my head. Anything that came out during late 1995 until early 1997 is likely on my music-to-ignore list. The only two exceptions to that list during the time period would be Deep Blue Something's "Breakfast at Tiffany's" and Del Amitri's "Roll to Me," both of which I associate with people I like very much.

The Smashing Pumpkins -- nope. Early Dave Matthew's Band -- nope. Um, anyone else -- nope.

I can forgive Weezer's blue album for coming out around then, as I don't associate it with anything until a few years later.

Anyway, point being, I'd really like to get this song out of my head. I never liked it before, and I certainly don't like it now. I might have to run home for my headphones so I can listen to whatever comes on free Internet radio. Anything's gotta be better than this. Yes, I'm looking at you, J-Lo...

Speaking of J-Lo, I got myself a new Bennifer engagement ring since the previous one lost its shine. I got a size smaller than before with hopes that it would fit better, but it's now too snug. Apparently my hands are neither a size four nor size five, and a size 4.5 just isn't very popular in the fake jewelry category on eBay.

I should be ashamed... I'm admitting to getting another ring of a celebrity I don't even care for too much from a celebrity I will very much admit to disliking on the grounds of him being a total choptard all because my current ring isn't shiny enough.

However, I'm not as ashamed as the French members of the UN Security Council who took bribes from Sadam Hussein should be. Good job, France. You oppose the US's moves because you're high and mighty, right? The $1.78b you received had nothing to do with it? Sheesh.

I'm looking at you too, Russia and China. (And, yes, I still have my eye on J-Lo too...)

No entry yesterday, as it just wasn't coming along well. I'd write a little here and there during the day, and it was just crap.

I got a nasty headache yesterday in the late afternoon. It was likely from not getting enough sleep, and Aleve didn't touch the pain. I left work for a bit to take advantage of a sale at the Body Shop. I got 20% off on top of a $10 off coupon, so I got some body butter that I've had my eye on for a while. So once the winter comes and I'm in-need of something extra-gooey to slather on my unhappy skin, I'll be prepared.

Oh crud. This is already like yesterday's useless entry. I really should stop. Zzzz.

Moving on now...

This weekend is already shaping up a bit. On Friday I�m heading over to Happy�s house to watch the debate with her, her roommates, and some other friends. It�ll be me (an economic conservative with liberal social views) in a room full of super-liberals.

Since most of them are of the it�s-popular-not-to-like-Bush-so-I-don�t-like-him persuasion without any real opinion (remember people vs. Bill Gates after he became a household name and all of the Microsoft is evil crap? I don�t see you running Linux, chump...) on anything other than a generic �war is bad� (okay, you�ve got me nodding there), �the economy is bad� (it�s called a recession, it happens every ten years or so, and it started slipping while -- gasp -- Clinton was still in office [not that I�m criticizing Clinton because it�s a natural economic happening and isn�t anyone�s fault]), and �everyone hates America� (you didn�t like the popular kids in high school yet still wanted to be like them, right...), I�m insisting that we play a presidential election drinking game (scroll a smidge until you get to the �Start drinking for real after the jump� part).

If nothing else, it�ll make things more interesting. Also, it�ll give me a crutch when I �accidentally� call one of them a communist pansy.

�Aww, man. I�m sorry. Too much barley down the trap tonight... [hiccup]�

As for Saturday, I think Benito and I should go to an overly crowded tapas place or get some most-excellent sushi. Or maybe even this one Mexican restaurant where the vegetarian plate isn�t a bunch of cheese-filled tortillas and they have this most-excellent (or since we�re at a Mexican restaurant I can say Mexcellent??) guacamole and margaritas. Or, or, or we can go to King Crab -- this funny-sounding place between our houses.

Can you tell I�m hungry right now??

Wherever we go, we can then play a bunch of Donkey Konga (nah-nah-nah-nah, Donky Konga, bidda-bidda-bidda -- guess what song was in my head yesterday) afterwards.

Benito teased me earlier, saying that I had an upcoming JoPrize. I�ve determined through guesses that it isn�t a mango (my first JoPrize from many months ago and what�s always my guess when he says I have a JoPrize) or a glittery tube top. However, it may or may not be a Jobot (in English: robot) to sit at work in my place while I�m at home petting Hambone, running on the treadmill, or doing whatever it is that I want to do. (Read: Sleeping or reading books.)

Allow me to say it: GO �STROS!

At the end of August when I took Benito to the Cubs vs. Astros game for his b-day, we had a hard time deciding who to root for. We�re both from Houston with ties from back in the day when Jeff Bagwell was a rookie (and then a Gold Glove winner) (and then the MVP) and Craig Biggio was a catcher (and then a second baseman) (and now an outfielder), so there�s a bit of nostalgia for the days of orange and blue (gold and black)(black and red).

On his b-day, the Astros were so far back from even getting into the wildcard slot that we determined that rooting for the Cubs to win (hey -- playoffs are a heckuva lot of fun in Chicago) and for Craig Biggio and Jeff Bagwell to do well. It indeed happened (lotsa defensive plays for Biggio, Bagwell hit a homerun, and the Cubs won), but then the Astros went on this tear-�em-up stage and started kicking all kinds of ass.

And now that Sammy Sosa is being a little whiny turd, it�s fitting for the team with players really and actually trying and veterans who so deserve this to be representing their division.

Again, I say: GO �STROS!

I only wish the Rangers were there too.

(And maybe Detroit since it would make someone else very happy...)

Now onto fashion. Things in the fashion world I do not like:

-- Ponchos. These are for old, Mexican men and most definitely should not come in colors like teal. All the women wearing these look frumpy. Frumpy = not fashionable. You all look silly.

-- Madonna skirts. Little flippy short-short skirts don�t look good on anyone. Really. I don�t care if you�re bone thin, have fantastic legs, or are 13-years-old. (If you are 13-years-old, you most definitely shouldn�t be wearing anything that comes that close to showing your ass.) These can go back to 1985, where they belong!

-- 3/4-length pants. No, no one looks good in these.

-- Belly sticking out from the shirt. If you don�t have a perfect belly (I�m looking at you, 13-year-olds, as the only people who likely have bellies such as these), don�t let it hang out. No one wants to see that.

-- Those droopy collars. Okay, these look good. I just can�t wear them since I tend to play with anything that isn�t completely fastened to me.

And to further discuss this fashion trend, I give you a snippet of an IM conversation:

Jo says: I can't wear those collars
Jo says: They make me want to play with them
Jo says: Play-play-play
Sunstarr says: they show off my boobies

All righty. I�m outta here! G�nite all.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com