CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Gum is Gross

2004-04-06� � 12:00 p.m.
It�s official. I�m sufficiently grossed out by gum. Like cows mindlessly ruminating on grass, this human equivalent of cud is absurd. What ever possessed humans to create a spearmint-flavored sliver of rubbery substance to continuously gnaw on for hours on end?

A week or two ago I was sitting happily on the bus, trying to enjoy a book on my short commute. This ninny was cowing his gum, his jaw mindlessly snapping away, the sound occupying that section of my brain where I try so hard not to hear that noise, yet it is suddenly amplified as my world envelopes into stress folded again and again.

Like a bad movie where the music escalates and the gum�s noise is exaggerated and the main character�s perspective spins out of control, my glances to all directions were met with others robotically moving their jaws.

To make matter worse, there�s a gum chewer in the office who snaps and cows all day long. Sitting twenty feet away, I can still hear her over the jagbags who talk on conference calls all day long. Her chewing gets faster as she types, and I can smell her gum when she changes to a fresh piece. I don�t know what�s worse: having to listen to her chomping or smelling her gum and knowing that it�s mixing with her saliva.

On the bus this morning I took the front seat. Somehow, despite the loud bus noises, the multiple stops to pick up more passengers, and some annoying McTalkersons, I could hear this lady (who was sitting near the rear exit) chomping on her peppermint-flavored, germ-filled, absolutely-nasty-of-a-thought gum. I shot her a dirty look, which I�m sure confused the hell out of her.

Am I the only one who thinks gum is gross? Let the guestbook know.



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com