CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Ham Does Not Like Ming

2003-10-13� � 1:19 p.m.
I previously mentioned how much Ham likes Ming, but apparently I made that announcement too soon. This weekend revealed a few behaviors that have me confused, and I�m not sure how this will turn out.

Ham has taken to attacking Ming. They�ll quietly stroll past each other when Ham suddenly lunges and starts with the claws and hissing. Ming shrieks, and I intervene. I�ve been very careful to scold each kitty equally and not pet either of them afterwards. I don�t want one to feel like he or she is being loved anymore than the other.

I�ve also witnessed Hambone hiding and then launching a sneak attack on Ming. He pounces her, clawing and biting like a typical five-year-old boy. Ming shrieks, and I do as I described above.

Last night I saw something that made me a bit confused. Hambone approached Ming, and she released a growl. He gave her a �C�mon now. Let�s be friends,� and started licking her coat as he did a mere week ago while trying to be nice. She stays tense for the first few licks, relaxing a little with each subsequent one. And as she finally lets her guard down, Ham bites the hell outta her neck!

I couldn�t believe this, as I was standing right there and obviously watching him. I even gave him a, �Oh, such a nice Ham,� as he licked her coat. When he bit her like a vampire kitty, I smacked him (lightly) on his top and then had to remove him from her when that wasn�t enough of a knock-it-off.

On Saturday night Ming crawled in and up to my legs, resting on my hip and thigh. Hambone approached from the other side, pushed her off of me, and then laid happily at my head.

Another odd action I witnessed -- this one actually funny instead of just Ham being a shit to her -- was Hambone shimmying her food bowl out of the bedroom and into the livingroom. He took his two little paws and pushed and positioned it out of his way before heading back into the bedroom to finish his meal.

Just how do you handle these? If I give Ming attention, Ham will get more jealous, and I assume this would escalate. Then again, I find it mean that I would pay him more special attention because he�s acting crappily, when she�s the one in need of love.

Attention issues aside, he�s seven pounds heavier than she is, and I�d hate for him to hurt her. I don�t think he�d do anything too bad, but there�s no telling...

Anyone have any comment? Please let the guestbook know.


Other announcements:

CW3 no longer works with me. She was gone before I strolled in at 8:45, so I didn�t get to witness anything remotely entertaining. CW2 does report that CW3 told the (quite small) big boss that this position wasn�t a writing position. Um, okay... After seeing her proofreading skills, I�d hate to see her writing. It�s like saying you�re a great surgeon except for that whole giving stitches thing.

I have updated The List and replaced Matthew Davis with Matt Damon. I don�t know what I was thinking. I�d even put the luscious George Clooney higher than Matthew Davis, so I was truly just confused. Sheesh.

I talked with my parents last night, and it ends up that they both fell for my October Fool�s entry where I announced my marriage. No wedding for me, thankyouverymuch. I have no business with a boyfriend, nonetheless a husband. If I end up married, check for scrawled messages in my apartment�s hiding spots. There�s likely a letter describing the blackmail technique he used and my plan for escaping. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com