CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Just the Highlights

2005-08-17� � 3:08 p.m.
Friday: Because I had a 5 p.m. flight, I only worked until 2:30

Right now I�m working on a complete snoozefest of documents. As a fancy editor of sorts, I have to go through all of this pre-written stuff written by people who know everything and make it correct English-wise and company standards-wise.

This part of my job doesn�t really involve much brain power, and it only takes up a small percentage of my time each quarter. Usually this is something to sorta look forward to for a nice break, even though it�s boring.

However, the ding-dong who wrote all of the docs I�m working on doesn�t understand that Not Everything Important Requires Caps or that commas should sometimes be used.

This being said, I left work at 2:30 to go home and change, take the el to O�Hare, check in, get through security, and get to my gate. I got there with minutes to spare -- just as I like it when traveling.

Saturday: My nephew Branden had his second birthday party

The entire party was fun. We had people in and out all day long, including a total of six kids who were all about the same age.

I took plenty of pictures of the kids playing naked in the pool to later embarrass them when they become baaaad teenagers.

Speaking of which, my sister was a baaaad kid. Her friends were also baaaad. It was nice to see all of these previously baaaad kids all shaped up and with a happy and healthy kid of their own. I guess most people do grow out of their rotten teenaged (and beyond) shenanigans.

One other highlight happened at five that morning, as I woke up to run.

That weekend slept in the room where my niece�s crib is, and I had yet seen her since she was already asleep when I came in the night before. At five that morning, she was cooing happily when I woke up. I got out of bed to get dressed and ready for my run when she noticed me.

Upon not recognizing me, she pulled herself to standing and craned her neck to see over the crib�s top. When she saw me, she gave me a huge grin.

Gotta love those happy babies!

I couldn�t help but pick the mini-me up for a squeeze and some cheeks kissing, which she happily took while she cooed at me some more.

When I laid her back down in her crib, she went right back to sleep, and I ran my six miles as the neighborhood slowly woke up.

Sunday: I got home to my bed and my Hambone.

After being away a couple nights, it�s so nice to sleep in my bed and snuggle with the very-happy-to-see-me Hambone.

I had my high thread count sheets and six pillows surrounding me, one of which Hambone claimed as his as he purred happily that I was home. (Okay. Perhaps he was just happy that I was there to feed him, since he likely ate the mound of food I left him within fifteen minutes of my leaving.)

The earlier part of the day had no complaints. My dad, maa, brother, and I went to south for my brother�s baseball game. It ended up getting rained out, but not until after we palled around a flea market and a huge thrift store. With the sky pouring, we headed home for a bit, where I got to toss my sister�s babies for a bit more and embark in an art project with my crafty and oh-so-talented sister.

Monday: I passed my state licensing exam for being a real estate salesperson in Illinois.

I�m official! Once I park my license with an agency, I�m available for helping people buy and sell houses. If you or someone you know wants a place in or near the city, just let me know!

WHOOT!

There�s a statistic saying that only 10% of all people who take the state licensing exam pass on their first try. I think this is all made-up, trying to make those who fail feel better about having to shell out another $45 and couple hours to take it again.

You don�t get a graded score if you pass, but I finished the test in only 54 minutes. I apparently did well enough to get all of the pieces of paper required for getting an official job somewhere.

GO ME!

Tuesday: Benito gave me a wonderful surprise.

I worked late into the evening to make up for leaving early on Monday to take my exam, so I didn�t get to run outside. After forcing my lazy bones up after dinner, I went downstairs to my condo�s workout room and hit the treadmill.

I watched the entire episode of The Closer while gunning it on the �mill. I�ve found ways to keep myself on the treadmill without wanting to slit my wrists from boredom. It consists of small blocks of time where there�s a pattern involving raising or lowering the incline or the speed. I�ve got a fifteen minute incline version and a twenty minute speed version, and the machine automatically runs a hill routine where I control the speed.

I was soaked when done, but it felt good.

When I came back to my unit, I returned the missed call from Benito, only to be interrupted by something at his work blowing up and him promising to call me back. I hopped in the shower, and mid-shampoo I thought I heard the phone ring. By time the caller called back again, I had leaned out of the shower to check caller ID.

Benito!

�Baby, let me call you in two minutes. I have soap in my hair.�

�No, just answer the door instead.�

So wet, naked, and completely soapy, I opened the front door, kissed him for the first time post-cold sore, and hopped back in the shower to finish.

We got a couple hours in before we went to sleep, and it was so nice to see him. It seems like I haven�t seen him in forever, when it�s actually been less than a week. But when you throw a trip to Houston in there, I guess it seems like longer.

And one last thing, it�s certainly nice when there�s no cold sore...

Oh la la. Happy Wednesday, all.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com