CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Going Home Early

2004-10-08� � 2:25 p.m.
And extra 30 to 60 minutes here and there really add up. Today I�m leaving work at 2:30.

2:30!

It�s only 11:16 right now, but I�m already ready to go home. Grr!

Oh yes, oh yes. Before I forget! If you emailed me about free money, I responded to you from my gmail account that contains my real name. Take a peep in your junk box or your deleted folder a name that Jo could be pulled out of. If your hotmail account deleted the mail before you could retrieve it, let me know and I�ll re-forward it to you.

And if you�d like free money, EMAIL ME for your share!

(I didn�t talk about it before because I didn�t write an entry on Wednesday. Damn laziness...) But on Tuesday night I had one of the rare weekday visits with my sweet Benito.

(Sidenote explanation: We see each other without fail on the weekends, but the weekdays are more difficult. When I get off of work, I workout and eat. When he gets home two hours later, I�m winding down with my shower and a book while he�s ready to workout and eat. If we want to synch it up, I�d starve and wouldn�t ever get to sleep in time to go to work the next day, so that�s usually a no-go.)

As not to blow his pirate/superhero cover, I�ll summarize and say that Benito is in the entertainment industry. Last night he had to go to a gym in north Chicago to watch some stunt guys practice to ensure they weren�t going to be useless chuckleheads. I was brought along because my boyfriend knows the things I like and knew I�d like to see this place.

They certainly were unprofessional business-wise, but it was still neat to see them work. For instance, if someone is going to be jumping in the air and a �bad� guy takes him out at the waist and you want the guy in the air to land on his head, it�s the same jump approach as a doing a chair-sit in cheerleading.

Um, not that you necessarily know what that is.

Anyway, the tumbles, the flips, and the falls were neat to watch, even if the guys were nambsy-pambsy with their excuses for not showing us anything cool. (Well, besides the falling on the head thing...) Hopefully all the simulated carnage and violence goes well today. I�m sure Benito�s budget would appreciate not having to hire new stunt guys to make up for what these guys pretended they could or could not do.

Earlier this week I put an ad in the Chicago area Craig�s List looking for someone to do recruiting for my Mary Kay business. I need other people to come into sales in order to move up into the leadership side of the business, but I have no time or energy to go out and find my own people. Enter the Craig�s List ad.

I put up an informal ad saying that I was looking to pay a couple people $50 per salesperson they recruited. This is an informal position, on-your-own-time, blah-blah-blah.

Despite all of this, I�m getting a number of crazy responses. Today I got a letter addressed, �Dear Sir,� saying that she�d actually like to do sales for me and could also help recruit others as she was doing the sales too. When I call Samantha back, I�ll be sure to call her Sammy, adding that if she�d going to assume I�m a Sir, I�ll assume she likes being called Sammy.

I�ve also gotten letters from salespeople and HR reps with 8-10 years of experience, all eager to collect $50 per head, bragging about the PeopleSoft implementation they launched or how they recruited 175 people for their last tech recruiter position.

It�s crazy how horrible these cover letters are. (I didn�t request a cover letter or resume, but I�m getting plenty of them.) I already told about the �Dear Sir� above. Others are just written so poorly that I�m considering not even calling them back for this simple position.

Oh yes, and let�s not forget all of the stalking information I now have. I have everyone�s full name, address, and phone number.

Let�s go over a couple things here:

If there�s no name listed and you�re not comfortable leaving off a greeting in your email, say, �Dear Hiring Manager� or something generic like that.

Don�t list your home address on your resume. Your city location, phone number, and email address are enough info for them to contact you yet not stalk you. Companies won�t send you a card in the mail, but a crazy who sets up a phony ad in Craig�s List to get the names and addresses of unsuspecting job seekers will know exactly where the FedEx van should arrive to pick up your severed head in a nice, neat box a la Gwyneth Paltrow in Seven.

Find a friend you know is good at English-type stuff to look over your cover letter and resume before you send it out. This doesn�t mean just someone with an English degree; an English degree usually means that your friend just read a bunch of books and talked about antidisestablishmentarianism and iambic pentameter in an attempt to sound smart. Find someone you trust, and get them to look it over.

And also, DON�T APPLY IF YOU AREN�T QUALIFIED FOR WHAT THE AD STATES.

Thank you.

My best friend is an IT guru-ess (-ette, -ita -- take your pick), and she mentioned something about this program Ad-Aware that I should be running. La-la-la. I was bored this morning, so I downloaded it, ran it, and erased a bunch of stuff. It seems that I had 179 files on my computer that shouldn�t have been there. So many companies and pop-up ad people following my every move!

And DAMN YOU PETA! Not only did you sell my name to a mailing list where every organization is looking for money, money, and more money, you also have a tracking cookie on me too. (I promise not to take it out on the animals...)

Anyway, so much crap. And now it�s gone. I have that after-shower fresh feeling already. [sigh]�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com