CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Adventures in Houston

2003-08-27� � 1:07 p.m.
Once again -- No spellcheck.


Well, well, well. Here I am, updating and reading diaryland at a blazing 33.2 kbps. It's amazing how much slower that is than my 56k at home, but then I remember how often I now use the home account. Goodness do I miss my T1 at work!

So far the Houston leg of my Texas trip has gone pretty well.

Highlights include:

Seeing a nature film at IMAX with my dad. I got to learn all about the migratory patterns of different animals. I'm most definitely going to see the crabs wherever they are. Those are just too neat. And if I can convince myself that I'd be safe, I'd love to visit the nature reserves in Mexico to see the butterflies. Sooo pretty... I'd also like to scrape the fucking barnicles off of the whales. They can't possibly like that shit attached to them.

Watching my brother take batting practice. Wow. He's a monster of a guy. Strong arms and a perfect swing go a long way towards hitting the ball over the fence. He's quite impressive... When he's a rich and famous baseball player, I'd better get good seats!

Marvelling George Foreman's new house down the way from my parents' plae. Speaking of someone being a monster of a guy, Mr. Foreman has built a monster of a house to match. His fenced-in place is absolutely beautiful. Air conditioning that place alone will run him a few grand per month. If he wasn't a helluva nice guy and didn't have five kids, I'd comment about him being a wasteful celebrity just wanting to flaunt his wealth.

[Not to knock my future husband Jeff Bagwell, but he's got a $1.5m house in the same neighborhood. Really, hon. Do we need a house that size? I guess if we have our ten kids we will. Better to get the place nicely settled before the sets of triplets come along, heh?]

Rollerblading with my little brother. I stuffed the ends of a size 12 pair of skates. For reference, I wear a size 3 in men's. We couldn't go far because pushing off was really quite difficult. We got a good laugh out of it, and he pushed me much of the way back to the house.

Watching a game at the Astrodome. We drove down there on a whim and had $10 tickets as soon as we stepped into the parkinglot. Quite nice. The seats were decent, and the Diet Coke was superb. [ahhh] Diet Coke. It's lovely. Even at $3.50 a pop.

Eating a box of Fruity Pebbles. Cereal in Chicago is way too dang expensive for me to buy it, so I took advantage of the lovely, lovely HEB and bought a box of Fruity Pebbles *and* a box of Corn Pops. Yummy, yummy stuff.

Riding on my dad's new motorcycle. Guess what I want as my next toy... If I move to San Diego, I'm gonna buy a travel trailer to park and live in and a sport bike as my get-around vehicle. Oh wait a sec... I bet a surfboard doesn't sit well with a bike. Dang it. Back to the drawing board. I'll get a bike nonetheless.

Seeing a mummy at the Houston Museum of Natural Science. I like mummies. I think I'll mummify Hambone when the time comes. He'll definitely be bigger than the kitty that was on display. Meow!

Watching "Queer Eye for the Straight Guy". Oh my. I understand the hub-bub over this show. Funny-funny-funny. I made my brother flip the channel from SportsCenter for the hour-long laughfest. Gotta love it. If you have TV, I recommend watching it.

Talking with an old friend on the phone, even if I probably won't see him. It's weird to hear a familiar voice all grown up. I always wonder how different I sound. The weird thing is that I probably look, act, and sound a lot more similar to when he actually knew me. Six years if a long time.

Oh yeah... Let's not forget...

Holding and hugging onto a particular pretty little baby who is oh-so-funny and cute! When I first met him, Jen woke him up and he gave the BIGGEST baby stretch ever. Within two minutes of holding him, he flashed me a big gummy grin. He's such a little monkey! I got to hold, feed, burp, change his diaper, and give him lots of general lovins. I rather love this baby. If mama didn't keep such a close eye on him, it's likely that he would end up as part of my carry-on luggage and back to Chicago with me. Then again, I don't think I can dance the night away with a baby who needs to be fed, changed, and loved on 24 hours a day.

All right. I just got a call from work. I have to fix something up, so I need to pull out my laptop. Woo-hoo! Enjoy your Wednesday. I'll write as soon as I can.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com