CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

The Entry Starts Here

2004-09-09� � 5:08 p.m.
Last night I read until 11:30 and made myself go to sleep immediately afterward. No one more glass of juice. No flipping through a magazine. No writing an overdue letter to a friend. Go to sleep, Jo.

I usually sit there with my eyes closed and my pillow hugged tightly for about 30 minutes before I find sleep. I�m sure I just laid there for a while, but I caught some ZZZZs a lot faster than I thought I would.

Having gone to bed so early, I popped up at 6 o�clock and was ready to go for the day. Thinking this was my usual load of BS, I made myself continue to pretend to sleep until 6:22, when I devised a plan.

I don�t know about you, but I need a plan if I�m going to get out of bed before my alarm.

My plan was to rise, get the light colored clothes into the washing machine, change into workout clothes, brush my teeth, pull up my hair, and go to the workout room. There I was to run at 5.4 mph for 14 minutes and lift my arms weights. Upon return I would feed Hambone, put the clothes in the dryer, eat some cereal, shower, and then get ready for work.

Having a plan that detailed and orderly may sound neurotic, but it works for me.

I did everything in order except for the running. People were walking on both of the treadmills when I came in. Running after lifting weights is not the preferred order. Grrr!

After all of this productivity (and adding �scrub bathtub,� �clean toilets,� and �unload dishwasher� to the list), I got to work at 8.

Maybe this will be something I can keep up with on a more regular schedule. Only time will tell...


After this one guy got off the treadmill, I hopped off the elliptical machine and took over in his spot. The lady next to me was watching the news, and she commented to me, �Those poor people in Florida, getting hit three times in six weeks.�

I�ve got some beef with Florida. It�s likely not popular, but I�m going to voice it anyway.

You live in Florida, land surrounded by the Gulf! You get hurricanes and tornadoes and all sorts of El Nino-like this-and-thats each year. You know the bad weather will come again and again, year after year, yet you continue to rebuild everything that got torn down -- just like it did the year before.

I understand that meteorological crap happens, but when someone lives in a place that�s surrounded by water, it�s going to flood. On a fault line, it�s going to shake. In a place called �Tornado Alley,� things will be blown around.

These people CHOOSE to live here. Why should my tax dollars be spent rebuilding their lives each year when they�re just going to have to be rebuilt the following year?

Move to Montana. I hear it�s beautiful.

The people I feel sorry for are those in Cuba who can�t just up and move to drier land, who really and truly can�t afford things like flood insurance or to rebuild their houses, and whose government isn�t going to help them.

If I minded it being cold nine months out of the year, I wouldn�t live in Chicago.

If 112 degree summers bothered me, I wouldn�t have stayed in Texas for so long.

I don�t want to rebuild my house each year, so I don�t live in Florida.

I don�t want my home�s foundation to crack, so I don�t live along the San Andreas.

I�m having an IM conversation right now with one bleeding heart who�s reminding me that it�s generally the low-and mid-income people affected and how they can�t just up and move.

Thanks for ruining my rant. I�m wrong. Whatever.

Meh.


Snippet #1 from IM with Bleeding Heart:

Bleeding Heart says: I'm told you bite

Jo says: only if you're made out of hotdogs


Snippet #2 from IM with Bleeding Heart where I know I�m wrong about Florida and just start answering BS:

Bleeding Heart says: so we should close the state down?

Jo says: yes, definitely

Bleeding Heart says: why not jsut blow it up?

Jo says: indeed -- down with old people!!!

Bleeding Heart says: that way no one can move into it

Jo says: and redistribute those electoral votes!

Bleeding Heart says: while we're at it, let's do the same with GA, SC and NC, since they get hit a lot as well

Bleeding Heart says: oh, and Kansas

Jo says: I never liked them anyway

Bleeding Heart says: we could level it and make another great Lake

Jo says: it would make for some bitchin water skiing


Shhh -- Don't tell anyone. My new at-work password is Benitard.

It thrills me each time I type it.


Time to go buy some salad, silken tofu, zucchini, a can of corn, and miscellaneous fruit. Mmmm!

Good night, all. Go hug a displaced Cuban.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com