CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Back from Texas -- Whee!

2004-12-30� � 4:22 p.m.
It�s been eight days since my last entry. And since eight is my favorite number, it works pretty well that I�d resume my rusty writings on day number eight. [sigh] Dia numero ocho. [el sigh]

My trip to Texas was the fastest-passing one I can recall. I�ve had weekends that lasted for about six years (the one where my sister got caught smoking pot back in high school comes to mind... that one certainly dragged...), but this one flew by.

Nothing against anyone who lives in my parents� house, but the babies had a lot to do with me wanting to stay some more. On Xmas Eve, my sister and her fianc� showed up with three kids in tow. Her stepson Matie, my nephew Branden, and my niece Alizabeth are all so cute. Xmas day was spent without Matie, but it was just as enjoyable. That evening we went to my Maw Maw�s place and saw all of my cousins and their beautiful kids (Cody, 7; Jordan, 3; Kayleigh, 6 months; Caden, 6 months).

As we were leaving, Maw Maw asked when I was getting married. And although I�m not opposed to me being married in the not-so-so-distant future (don�t anybody get any smart ideas out there), I replied that she had enough great-grandbabies for now and that I�d take my time. I see nothing wrong with me being educated and childless with a most excellent (and I really do mean most excellent, kick-ass, rockin�-the-casbah) boyfriend at age 25. At least no one has to worry about me affording the kids when I finally have them.

Oh yes. Presents! My family filled up my stocking a-plenty with giftcards for perfect pants and more smelly lotions, knee-high boots, workout gear for the cold weather, a super-charged back massager (or as my dirty, dirty sister said, �yeah, a back massager�), a kitty carrier that won�t kill my back, and plenty of other stuff that escapes me right now. Benito�s parents got me an oh-so-sparkly purple-stone bracelet to match the eight-carat purple-stone ring his mom couldn�t help but notice when she came for a visit. (It is 16mm across, mind you. It�s hard not to notice.)

Benito and I are waiting until this weekend to exchange presents. The night before we left for Texas, he had my present in a box and ready to go. When I moved rooms, he moved the box to always ended up wherever I was. At one point I was napping in his bed as he packed, and the box ended up in bed too. Since he was in another room, I let curiosity get the best of me. Just as I lifted the tape of the box, he came into the room. I caught a bunch of shit for that move...

After him buying each present idea I came up with for himself, I finally had my ace in the hole. All I had to do was get to Best Buy sometime and purchase what he�s been pining after. However, on the day I planned to get said present, he called to tell me that he had just returned some stuff to Best Buy and had picked up Mario Party 6 with the credit.

DAMMIT!

Ah well, we got a good laugh out of it at the airport.

He�s been informed that he�s getting a boring but useful present since he bought everything I thought to get him. I told my friend Catie about it, and she optimistically said, �At least he�ll think of you everyday!�

So there�s one hint. His one and only hint, assuming that he�s even reading this page anymore.

This morning when I came into work today, my coworker asked if I had heard from the Indian contractors.

Rut-roh.

We remembered that they lived in Mumbai, but we had no idea where Mumbai was. Some googling later, we learned that Mumbai is on the central, western coast of India and that it didn�t fall near the tsunami�s path of destruction.

And since I was feeling all google- and geography-happy, I also looked up where Istanbul was. Helga (my former neighbor) wants me to attend her sister�s wedding this summer in Istanbul. However, Benito pointed out that Turkey was on the border of Iraq, stamped his foot three times, and insisted that I not be a globetrotter as that part of the world was increasingly susceptible to random objects blowing up without notice.

Although Turkey indeed borders Iraq, Istanbul is 750 miles away and is practically Europe. It looks like I�ll get my passport updated to fulfill another number on my 101 in 1001 list to have just in case I decide to travel to Istanbul for the party in their honor.

Benito and I joked about taking our savings and retiring to a cheap place to live decently. I suppose I�ll use this trip as an excuse to find new ground. I hear Istanbul is lovely and oh-so-cheap.

[Maa, Dad -- relax. I�m not moving to Istanbul. You will have access to any future grandchildren. I don�t want to hear about it now, long before moving or babies occur.]

While in Texas over the holiday, my brother only once got me outside to run. The boy kicked my ass though. Running outside is a lot harder than running on the treadmill, and I was coughing and wheezing soon into my jaunt. Snot balls galore, if you want a pretty mental image. Despite my sputterings, we were out for about an hour. It counts as my one and only workout for that week.

It looks like Benito will win this month�s workout contest. Dammit.

One of Benito�s good friends and I were IMing earlier about how we have to start running big-time to come in anywhere near Benito in the Shamrock Shuffle -- the first race of the year. Knowing that we won�t likely beat him, we�re now racing each other.

In other running news, a diaryland family member and a dland friend are both running marathons. Widower�s wife is running (and will win, I kid you not) a marathon in the Houston area on January 1st, and Amber-AZ is running one in Phoenix on January 9th.

Mrs. Widower is definitely Boston-bound, but I�ll make the offer now to Amber-AZ that if she qualifies for the beantown race, I�ll fly her there to participate.

All righty. It�s about that time. Have a good evening. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com