CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Anything You Can Do, I Can Do Better

2003-09-10� � 10:28 a.m.
If that saying is true, you�re a crappy-ass painter.

I�m officially ChicagoJo Buff�n�Tuff after moving all of the furniture from my bedroom into my livingroom. My 5� 2� wiener build successfully moved a dresser, a queen sized mattress and its accompanying box springs, the bed frame, a rolled up carpet, and a bunch of crap that will likely be tossed.

A friend who distracts me from work-type stuff and I decided to race to see who would be finished first -- me moving everything out of the room, 409-ing all surfaces, and laying down floor protection versus him cleaning his apartment. The pokey little puppy lost the race, and I�m now looking for a prize that can be delivered from 1100 miles away. That�s neither here nor there. I�m just mentioning that I did this part of the project well.

Yes, I�m trying to make myself feel better about my inadequate painting skills.

So prior to the painting job I consulted an expert and bought the suggested supplies at my local hardware store. Armed with a gallon of Killz, a gallon of the cheapest wall paint in a color called Khaki Shorts, a bag of rollers, a roller thingy on a stick, a disposable baking pan (because I forgot to buy a plastic paint-holding -- say it with me now -- thingy), and some masking tape. The entire get-up cost $55, but I saw its purpose as twofold: being the final step to removing the SARs from my apartment (I�m feeling *much* better, thankyouverymuch) and making my bedroom all adult-like to go with my new 300tc sheets.

[Let me just rave about my new sheets for a minute. How did I ever sleep on those peasant rags before? Get thee to overstock.com and buy yourself some good sheets. MSN�s front homepage tells you when they�re on super-sale, so just pay attention.]

After negotiating a jewel-encrusted pony as my prize for being the fastest cleaner, I let my friend go to sleep and I got to painting. I�ve seen enough HGTV to know what to do, but it didn�t work all too well. Even coat, even schmoat. If the Killz layer is any indication of what my color painting will do, I�d be best to hire some kids to wrap themselves in cloth, reverse the effects of gravity in my bedroom, and let their writhing bodies squirm around.

This. Will. Not. Be. Pretty.

Updates to come later.


Google hits for the day:

"1995 movie powder" -gun -river -coating -bulk -baby �tooth
zwan video
toilet train cat
rollerblading chicago jb
sesame street make crayons episode
honda crv spy photos
spanking my secretary
naked pictures of myself
w2mr
armwrestle
wigs for kids long donation
proofreader pay�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com