CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

When Inspiration Strikes, Write it Down

2005-02-09� � 5:30 p.m.
I�ve decided to write a romance novel for my next NaNoWriMo. It seems like a genre I could figure out pretty easily, and the demand for the books leads me to believe that I could attempt to sell it afterward.

This page had a lot of information, and there�s a Dummies book written by the head honcho at Harlequin that should lead me through writing the story.

The only romance novel I�ve ever read before was an excerpt and outline for a coworker�s book. I�ll have to stop at the library for some more examples, but it seems totally do-able.

Nine more months until this NaNoWriMo is mine -- Muhahaha!


I had an extremely busy day yesterday.

I like the busy days because they go by so much faster. Notwithstanding, it also means that you don�t get an entry.

I found out yesterday that I�m attending a meeting in the suburbs at the end of the month and will be spending two nights out there. Pretty neat stuff, as I�ve never gone anywhere for work before.

And then today I found out that they just hired a contractor in India to be my graphics designer/slave. YAY!

There are all sorts of good things going on in the work front. I�m quite pleased right now.


Condi vs. Hillary, heh?

I�d rather watch the Celebrity Death Match than any of that election hoopla.

However, the article is right in saying that Condi is the only way to match up to Hillary. Should be interesting to see how that develops...


I had some rebates returned from the holidays, so the other night I went a little crazy in Walgreens� vitamin aisle.

Centrums, calcium, B viatmins, vitamin C, and fiber tabs will all acquired. I�m gonna be 100% USRDAed out, strong-boned, non-deficient, and running smoothly from here on out.

Since I�m not going to be able to workout too hard until I�m convinced that my %$^& back feels better, I might as well do the best I can with the diet. It was totally worth the $38, I�m sure.


In lieu of writing a real entry, I�m going to fill out what I found on Heidiann�s site.

I generally hate all of those stupid what-are-you-doing-right-now/how-well-do-you-know-me surveys. However, this one wasn�t that bad. It made me laugh.

This one�s all about high school.

What year was it? 1993-1997. The first two years were spent at a regular high school, and the second two years were spent at a live-in program. I don�t remember much about the first year I went to the live-in program, though.

What were your favorite bands or musical artists? I�m not too into music, so let me think back. I remember Live�s Lightening Clashes and some country music from the first two years. In the second half, I had the stupid friggin� Smashing Pumpkins music shoved down my throat. I still can�t listen to them today without getting annoyed.

What was your favorite outfit? It was four years of school that occurred nearly ten years ago. Who the hell knows. I wore mom-jeans (up to your belly button and unflattering) and polo-style shirts a lot, I guess. Think preppy girl clothes. Nothing special.

What was up with your hair? Hopefully nothing, as my hair today looks about the same: long, straight, and brown. I really don�t look much different, I think.

Who were your best friends? In the first half of school, all of the similar preppy girls were my BFFs. When I went off to college, they all became stuck-up little snatches. Just a guess: They were that way all along. In the second half of school, my best friends were Robin (a techie in Dallas), Matt (a techie in Austin), and Bob (a techie in Colorado).

Where did you work? After 10th and 11th grade I worked at a law firm. 80 hours a week at $5 an hour plus OT added up. After the 12th, I was tired of being a child slave and went to work at the local grocery store for $7 an hour. This job was much-preferred.

Did you fight with your parents? If I made below a 98, my mom accused me of being on drugs, having sex, and doing whatever other things parents fear their children are doing. She was wrong.

Whom did you have a CELEBRITY crush on? This is embarrassing. I had a crush on Dean Cain -- formerly Superman, but now of Ripley�s Believe It or Not (sorta) fame.

Did you smoke cigarettes? Nope. Not even once.

Did you lug all of your books around in your backpack only because you were too nervous to find your locker? Books, schmooks. I could pick most stuff up just by attending class and taking notes.

Did you have a 'clique'? Yeah, I already mentioned the snatches above.

Did you have "The Max" like Zach, Kelly, and Slater? There was no hangout in our small, crappy town.

Admit it, were you popular? I was a cheerleader and a class officer, and I participated in all of the clubs; however, I�m pretty sure during the first two years I was less popular than my school involvement seemed.

Whom did you want to be just like? I had plenty of examples of what I didn�t want to be like, and I used those as examples.

What did you want to be when you grew up? An eye doctor. Yes, I kid you not.


All right. I�m outta here. Have a great evening, everyone.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com