CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Change is in the Air

2007-05-15� � 6:13 p.m.
Over the past year I�ve been more and more vocal about how much I dislike my job. I tell my boss straight-up when I apply for new jobs, about how I kinda blank out for half of the day, and how friggin� bored I am. And in true Office Space sense, after a night of six martinis, a few tequila shots, a few O-bombs, and three gin and sodas before I saw the sun rise, I got an email the next morning saying that I was suggested for a major promotion.

Yes, this is my life.

Where others pedal and pedal, finding themselves perpetually on the stationary bike of life, I take a little nap and wake up to find that someone moved me to a motorcycle�s sidecar and even strapped a little helmet on me while I slumbered.

I�m amazingly lucky.

It�s not to say that I haven�t had my fair amount of being shat upon; I just recognize the blessings I�ve received by being in the right place at the right time, being outgoing enough to talk with strangers, and keeping my options open.

A year and a half ago I noticed that I need friends, and a door opened to the most amazing and diversely talented group of women around. We hang out. We vacation. We work out. We support each other unconditionally, but we also speak up when one of us is being a bonehead.

I knew that I needed a change of scenery, and my boss casually mentioned the next day that I have the sort of position that will allow me to work from anywhere I want. And from there, so many options have presented themselves: sunny California skies, the warmer waters of Boca Raton, the comfy home of anywhere in Texas... And the way people in all of these locales have opened themselves to me -- AMAZING!

Granted, the love department in my life has taken its toll in the past two years. However, I chose to take a humorous look at it and say that I�ve at least gotten some great stories out of it. I also recognize my patterns (e.g., if you live 1,000 miles away, you are instantly 1,000 times more attractive), and I know exactly what I want (e.g., brown hair and eyes with a darker complexion and masculine features -- tee hee hee!).

And unlike many other females out there, I have a very strong sense of myself in and out of a relationship, do not go around kissing on men to make myself feel some semblance of love, and know that when I do find someone I want to keep around, it won�t be out of boredom, loneliness, or lust.

I�m not really sure where this is going, but perhaps I�m pulling together being lucky and having a good head on my shoulders. It�s luck, not chance that got me where I am. Common sense, lessons learned, and quick wit and cynicism apparently go a long way.

And now with the impending move, the job opportunity, the side projects coming more and more into fruition, I don�t have to read my horoscope to know that there�s definitely something going. I need to remember to take a step back, let my mind�s eye take a snapshot of what�s going on around here, and file it away so I can look back on it months, years, or decades from now to fully capture where I�ve been before I get where I�m going. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com