CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

I Tell Lies Because I Think They're Funny

2004-07-15� � 5:29 p.m.
Benito accuses me of being a liar with this here diary. Apparently I�m way cooler here than I am in real life. (�which doesn�t speak well for you, hon -- xoxo)

I didn�t actually tell off the guy with the white dog. I said in my sweetest Texas-girl voice, �Aww, thanks. You have a great life too,� and skipped off like I was indeed serious with my so-sweet-it�s-diabetic-inducing comment.

And then I turned him in to the building manager for not having his dog on a leash in a common area.

So take that, old man on the 20th floor with the big, white dog.


[WARNING: dream talk ahead]

I had a weird dream last night where Benito and I were in a reality show. We were kicking some major reality-show tush when we discovered through an Internet leak what the prize was. That being undesirable, we spent the rest of the time no longer endearing American TV-viewers with our sparkling smiles and winning personalities and showing up to the show�s challenges drunk as can be.

That is all.


While hung-over a couple weeks ago, I walked with a friend to get some pizza. In passing, I noticed a Chinese restaurant/hut with fruit smoothies. No one -- and I mean NO ONE -- makes a smoothie better than those in Chinatown. I figured if anything was going to come close, this would be it.

Not wanting to spend another $6 on lunch, I walked home today to eat a little leftover vegetable curry. I stopped at the Chinese hut and got myself a banana-strawberry smoothie. Damn good.

Although the leftover vegetable curry got thumbs down despite at least getting something in my belly to avoid the $6 meal, I get two thumbs up for my productivity in the 20 minutes (including walking) that I spent on lunch.

I now have a sparkling kitchen and master bathroom. Windex galore, toilet brush used, and sinks shined like you wouldn�t believe.

Okay, so maybe you�ll believe it.

But for me, it�s quite a start.


Tuesday�s volleyball games went pretty well. This is surprising because the team has a record of about 50-50, and we were at 25ish%.

We lost the coin-toss, so the other team took the good side to keep the sun out of their eyes. The sun gods were nice enough to stay hidden, and we won the first game. It was pretty close, but we still won.

REJOICE!

Halfway through the second game, this massive wind started up. It blew sand and papers and seagull poop into our opponent�s eyes and ensured that they couldn�t see our serves or return the ball. Again, it was close. But we were still the victors.

That game took so long that we didn�t have to play the third, and the friendly Chicago Sport and Social employee said that we would have won anyway.

So now the record has improved to 7 wins and 11 loses.

GO TEAM SPIKESALOT!


All right. I�m about to go nuts if I stay here much longer. I�m outta here. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com