CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Make Me a Thouand-aire, Part Three

2003-03-05� � 5:49 p.m.
I forgot to update y�all on my final interview, so now�s as good a time as ever.

On Monday I woke up fairly early and decided to take a taxi to the interview. Wouldn�t ya know that I got there waaaayyy too early. Down the road I spot a Dunkin Donuts, so I make my way down the road.

Let me digress for a moment. I don�t like donuts. For a bread-lover, this is surprising. I�ll take a bagel any day. I�m a lover of the English muffin. Toast, biscuits, waffles, muffins, pancakes, pizza crust, bread sticks, and most other carbs are definitely my friends. But there�s something about a donut�s sweetness that turns me off.

I figure I�ll spring for an OJ or Diet Coke, sip it quietly to kill ten minutes, and then walk back to the office building. But I�m in luck. Dunkin� Donuts has bagels. I get some bread-y goodness with some extra cream cheese to eat while I enjoy my OJ in a cute little box.

I make it to the interview with no problems. All is going well. The Managing Editor greets me and we talk about our weekends.

[I painted my bathroom with black stars.

Aren�t they cute?!]

I meet with the Executive VP, and all goes well. She seems pleased with my experience and we get along well.

Then I meet with the President of the company. He begins by saying, �I don�t want to hear about job-related stuff. The people you�ve already talked with will make sure that you can do that. I just want to get to know you a little and see what we think about each other.�

So I asked him about his trip to San Francisco that he took the previous week. We talked about Texas. We talked about baseball. All went well there too.

Then he asks if I�ve met with the Online Director. This is who I�ll be working under, so it makes sense that I would talk with her, right?

So we meet. She�s not as receptive as everyone else has been, but I�d still say at this point that things were going well. We talk about my experience, my background, her background, and she looks at my writing samples. She asks that I send her more feature-oriented pieces and I say that I can look for some and fax them later.

For each interviewer I try to have one good question. I asked one about the changes they have made with the recent economy. I asked another about the different markets. I asked another about the people�s backgrounds. Seeing that I had already interviewed with four other people, I had very little left to ask her.

So I pulled the basic HR crap outta my butt and asked what she liked about working there.

Suddenly the tone changed.

She perked up, talking about half-day Fridays once the weather gets nicer, the casual dress code (I didn�t witness this, as the Austin tech industry has been shorts and sandals for years...), the every-so-often outings, the great people, etc. She�s going on and on about how much she loves it there, not realizing what a good sell she�s making to me.

Before I know it, we�re talking about rollerblading, beach volleyball, Wrigley field, and growing up in the South -- and we sound like new friends.

I got home, found some old writing samples, faxed them over, and sent out my thank you emails.

Now we play the waiting game... �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com