CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Another Interview, Part Three

2003-04-30� � 1:42 a.m.
Part One

Part Two


The bus was late. So I was barely late to the interview. I called to let them know, so all was cool with my public transportation blues.

I get to the place I�ve got to go, and they make me fill out a mickey-fickey application. Since it has all of the same information as my resume, I think it�s secretly a chance to use a handwriting analyst so read my psyche. Thirty minutes later, I get to talk with the Marketing Director.

Remember the part where I said that I didn�t know jack about day-to-day marketing? Guess what they�re looking for!

I fumble my way through the interview, fuming that I rode the bus and subway for an hour and dirtied up some dry clean only pants to interview for a job I have no chance of getting. I try as best I can to demonstrate that I have strong writing skills and can learn to be her marketing monkey, but she�s not buying it. After a good hour of that BS and a plant tour (very neat stuff, BTW), she has me meet with HR for some more questioning.

She begins by asking me if I have any questions. I decide since I have nothing to lose at this point, I figure that I might as well satisfy my own curiosity and ask her why in the heck they chose to interview me � mostly tech experience, no PR background, no real marketing anything besides an opinion.

[blank stare]

Apparently no one�s ever had the balls to ask this sort of question before. We�re in new territory here, and she�s forced to say nothing but the truth:

You�re a strong writer, and the way you�ve presented yourself thus far shows us that you won�t have a problem diplomatically talking with people at events, tradeshows, and around the office.

I momentarily question whether or not this is sarcasm, but she continues with the department�s five year plan and how my skills align with the expectations. Basically, they want someone with the skills and abilities that they can get new ideas from and teach new methods to.

Not too shabby.

I take out my black binder to continue taking notes and she asks what I�ve written.

The pen is notes from my interview with the Marketing Director, and the pencil is company research. Elaboration, elaboration � I want to make sure this company�s products and services are quality and something I�ll want to represent.

I noted the environmentally friendly aspect of their stuff, and she took out a sticky pad and wrote something I�m sure was similar to what got me two smileys in a previous interview.

Despite what the Marketing Director said, they are looking for someone web-heavy with strong writing skills and the ability to synthesize information and adapt it to their audience�s needs. Also, being a good schmoozer wouldn�t hurt either.

From there, we got into specifics and she did some crazy scribbling on the resume.

Now the waiting begins� �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com