CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Now that I've Got a Job I Like...

2003-10-24� � 5:19 p.m.
I had my yearly review yesterday with my big, big boss, and things went exceedingly well with the compliments. I�m great, everyone likes me, and they�re plum-pleased with how I cleaned up and handled the CW3 business, and they like that I�m not a Sox fan.

[Yeah, don�t think I�m kidding about that last one -- The Cubs are serious business around here...]

They�re thinking of having me work from home three days a week, something they�ll try out after these next two weeks are up. There may seem to b plenty to look forward to at the end of those weeks, but alas there is potentially bad news.

I may find myself back in the unemployment line if they don�t have the funds to keep things up. They have all the work in the world there that needs to be done, but they�re really having to justify things lately, and they�re trying to move my job back overseas.

Luckily they�ve already experienced what happens when you hire people in India for $4 an hour and ask them to write documentation. Shit, it�s what I cleaned up for the first month I was here. I won�t go into details, but I assure you that it wasn�t pretty.

I find out soon, but I�m really not all too worried. I�ll at least get unemployment and won�t have to leave my house during the cold months. Wake me up in June. If I�m not afraid of my shadow, I�ll get another job. Hee hee!

Things are really, really busy there. Take the late postings as an example of how busy I am. If I can�t take minutes out of my day to compose a little entry for you guys, they must be working me to the bones.

Bloody stumps anyone? Anyone?

Well, I�m off. I�ve got to change clothes and then meet up with Lorinda for our weekly eat-and-gossip-a-thon before meeting up with other friends for the night.

Have a happy Friday evening!�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com