CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

A Little Job-Stuff, Then I'll Shut Up

2003-06-26� � 7:03 p.m.
After having not worked for six months, I've forgotten just how quickly the time goes by when ten hours are spent on work-related activities. The alarm and I had a squabble this morning, and I fully anticipate a full-out brawl in a couple days.

My alarm is set for 6:20, but I somehow don't hear it until 7:40, leaving me 20 minutes to put on some makeup, brush my teeth, throw on my clothes, grab my laptop, and head out the door. Each morning I've taken the 10-minute public transportation ride instead of the 30 minute walk. I fully intend on reaching an agreement with my alarm to allow me a little more dawdling time each morning.

Ten hours. Gone each day. Wow. I never thought of it that way. Between the forced lunch (something I never did at previous jobs) and the walking/riding, that's how much of my day I piss away at work.

And for what?

Oh yeah -- A boatload of cash. Dinero. Bling. Shiny things. That which makes the world go 'round.

My email signature once said, "People who say money doesn't buy happiness don't know where to shop." Conversely, my current sig reads, "Sure I could have it all, but where would I put it?"

All things in moderation. You can't take it with you. Don't count the chickens before they're hatched. Don't spend it all in one place. Don't buy too many bananas because they just go bad.

[Okay, so I made that last one up. Only because I had a banana more or less burst itself onto my kitchen counter after I ignored it for a few days...]

Now to lump all job-related crapola into one (potentially) boring entry so I never have to speak of it again:

It's quite a gig I've got here. I pull documents that are ready to be reviewed off of the job queue, make them fit the company's requirements, and then repost them online for final review. I've come up with a new job title for myself: Glorified Proofreader.

Only, for some reason, I'm not getting proofreader pay. The job description was very specific. I had to have all of my usual communications-related skills, but they also wanted a schlew of tech know-how that very few people have.

Come to find out, the techie brain is a "just in case something really breaks and no one else is around" kinda thing.

Now here's the kicker: Because I have this nerd-knowledge, I got to demand my own price.

Muhahahaha!�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com