CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Junk in the Trunk

2004-04-29� � 3:17 p.m.
Last night I discovered that I had long hair again. And seeing that I run the apparently popular long-hair diaryring that uses my mug prior to the Locks of Love donation as the descriptor, it�s appropriate that I fit the ring�s description.

My hair hangs to my clavicles, framing my face nicely. I�ve been blessed with straight hair that�s neither too thick nor too thin, has no odd kinks in it, and is super shiny and happy (and holding hands).

Unfortunately bun season is upon us, so it�ll take an extra effort not to simply tie it all back and be done with it.

Last night I couldn�t get the bun to go up, so I dunked my head under some water to smooth it out. When I did a quick blow-dry to get it back to a workable state, I was all Kristen Davis-y pretty hair.

The hair, people. Not the caboose. I�ve got more junk in my trunk.

Speaking of personal storage, I have my first appointment for someone to look at my current place. I went out last night to meet friends at a bar down the way. I left by 10-ish to get to sleep at a decent hour. I�m not sure what all I did between then and sleepy time at 12:30, but it certainly didn�t involve cleaning the house up.

I�m really lucky that I�m not living like a Yeti right now. This evening I have to leave work early to get home and do some quick cleaning. I�ve gotta make the place smell and look good, which involves scooping that damn litterbox, wiping everything down with a little orange-scented 409, and making my stack of boxes not look so cruddy. Since I already have a stack of boxes though, I�ll be sneaky and remove the stuff I�m storing in my closet to make that oh-so-important space look bigger.

I really wish I could remove some furniture to make the whole place look bigger, but whatever. If someone likes the apartment, they�ll take it. It�s at a great price for the terrific location, and there�s no deposit. If you know anyone in Chicago and they take my apartment, I�ll make you a ChicagoJo t-shirt, take you out for beer, or just settle on commanding Helga to be your love slave. Either way it goes, I�m sure you�ll be happy with the results.

I know I�ve already said it, but my hair sure is cool today.

Oh yes. I�ve had to start back with the lysine. It seems that there must be a little stress running through my veins, as I�ve got a little blister bumped below my lip. I don�t feel the tell-tale tingle, but I�m trying to fight it before that even starts. I don�t have the patience for the white blob of aspirin right now, so I�m using the Abreva I bought but never used from last time.

Here�s to hoping this works.

I really don�t feel stressed about anything. The thought of having $26 in my account is even fine with me as long as the bank is nice enough to let me live in the house while they hold the papers on it. (That is essentially what happens, ya know. And as long as I continue to give the bank my money each month, they�ll let me continue to live in their house. I sure hope they don�t mind a blue livingroom!)

Oh yes. Volleyball last Tuesday.

I don�t know if I mentioned my bonehead move of banging the hell outta my knee last Saturday... Okay, so I did.

In sum, I smacked the b�jesus out of my knee on the very sharp edge on my oven and couldn�t bend it. On Sunday I heated it up and forced it to bent, resulting in a surprising amount of mobility since then. (I�m actually really surprised that my do-it-yourself healthcare works out so well. God bless the Internet.)

Point? Where did you go?

Oh yes.

Volleyball.

I planned on sitting out of volleyball until I got a team-wise message from one player saying that she was sick and wouldn�t make it to the game. We have four guys and four chicks playing on a six-player team for this very reason. But with two women out and rules about who all has to be out there, I decided to be a placeholder to avoid forfeiting the game in our double-header.

So I was all hobbily and useless out there, merely serving at my designated time and hitting anything that came directly to me, when one of our better players rolled his ankle. So now we�re down to three guys and two and a half women out there. (I count as the half-woman.)

Because his foot�s swelling to the size of his face, he decided to go to the hospital. His wife drove him there, leaving us with three guys, a Happy, and a half-me.

These brave four and a half souls stuck it out through the double-header where we won a whopping one game out of the six we played. And considering that I think I broke my trachea because this guy spiked the ball so hard, that�s not too shabby.

Somehow, despite the beating we took, we�re in third place. And next week when we play a craptacular 9 p.m. game, we at least play the last place team. That should wrap things up nicely.

All right. I have actual work that I need to do before I sneak out of here.

Send out happy rental thoughts at 7 p.m. CST with hopes that I can get rid of my apartment. Whee!�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com