CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Lack of Slack

2007-02-07� � 7:36 p.m.
Right now I�m in the midst of setting up a business. I�ve mentioned it here and there, but things are finally moving along now.

Finding the right domain name isn�t proving to be easy. I came up with a great company name months ago, but the only available domain is fifty bajillion letters long. I�m trying to convince myself that instead of duking it out for my preferred www, I should just create a generic company with a division that handles this business venture.

On the upside, my graphics search is complete. I found myself a talented designer who submitted superb stuff to me. I�ve at least got that nearly settled.

The goal of this company is to learn as much as possible about running and marketing a business so I don�t make the same mistakes when I come up with my actual money-making idea. That being said, I still need to buy the domain name, set up the web site, finalize the graphics, write up web content, design and print business cards read a bunch on how to market a company for free, send out my press releases, and all of that other stuff that I have written down on the 36 post its I have all over my home office.

Note to self: Embrace your inner man, and fix the electrical wiring in that room.

I also need to decide on a title for my business card. �President and Founder� sounds a little goofy to me (it�s too close to the Hair Club for Men�s �President and Customer�), but calling me �CEO� screams that my title should instead be �Entire Company�. Which is true and all... But, yeah. That�s not gonna fly.

Decisions, decisions.

Once a week I allow myself to stay at home and slack off on my working out. With how friggin� miserable Chicago is right now, I took Monday off. Yeah, that was the most horrid day in ages...

So I went home and ate mashed potatoes with gravy and soy beans mixed in. It was tasty, but I�ve felt like a slug since then since I now have no slacker day to look forward to now.

And since I have no slacker day left and I�ve already worked late, I�m off to find sushi so it can digest as soon as possible and I can run on the treadmill for an hour and lift legs before I go to sleep. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com