CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Let the Peanut Butter Determine Your Laziness

2004-05-27� � 5:20 p.m.
Two nights ago I went home exceptionally late and spent the evening watching an entire disc of the fourth season of Sex and the City. I was too lazy to eat dinner, so I took out the peanut butter container and dipped my fingers into its crunchy goodness.

You know what�s sad? When what stops you from eating more peanut butter is that your fingers aren�t long enough to reach anymore without sticking your hand into the entire jar.

If I was too lazy to get up to get a spoon, how would I muster the energy to turn on the computer and write an entry?

Last night I was also excused from writing anything, as the Texas Rangers were in town playing the Sox. Three friends and I headed over to the field for some hot dogs and Cracker Jacks.

We agreed to meet at 6:30, so I hurriedly left the house at 6:10 for the trip south of town. My train pulled in at 6:28, and I stood off to the side to wait for the others to meet up. Brian called and said he was finally on his way and that the other two hadn�t left yet either. Argh.

I don�t know who said it, but I recalled a quote:

The problem with being punctual is that no one�s there to appreciate it.

Somewhere around the first pitch (that�s 7:05 for your non-baseballians), one friend showed up and reported that the other two were running so far behind that we�d leave their tickets at the gate.

After a quick stop to the hot dog stand (they have veggie dogs at this field), we settled into our nosebleed seats behind home plate. In all actuality, these were decent seats. They were nothing like the $3 seats in the Astrodome -- everything was seen well, there was room to stretch out, and getting up and down for more $3 hot dogs wasn�t a problem.

The two Nancies (Nancy is my generic term for a prissy person) showed up halfway through the game. The damn Rangers lost 4-0, which made for an unhappy Jo.

I have a bad history of watching the Rangers lose. Only once have I seen a winning game, and never have I seen Pudge Rodriguez (my then-favorite Ranger) actually play. Besides the game I saw them win, the closest I had ever seen was an extra-innings game where Pudge played a couple innings before socking one to Chad Curtis and angrily taking to the dugout.

Poor me.

Today�s been a drag-ass day. I spent this morning reviewing stocks, as Benito and I have entered a friendly contest where we�re keeping a virtual stock exchange portfolio and seeing who gets the most after a month.

We�re trying to come up with good betting terms, but he�s yet to agree with my proposal. I don�t have anything chosen if I lose, but oh buddy... If he loses, he�ll have to hang boy band posters in his house during his housewarming party.

I rule!

Unfortunately the extreme lag in the freebie program we�re using waited a good twenty minutes before fulfilling my trade. Something I bought at 10.23 was supposed to be sold at 10.54, but it somehow got traded at 10.16 instead. My loss plus the $20 commission wasn�t too pretty. Poop.

Oh well. There�s always tomorrow.

All right. I need to get home. I have clothes to wash and boxes to pack. Whee!



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com