CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Mmmm, Strawberries

2004-06-17� � 5:21 p.m.
I just spent $10 in berries, and I don�t feel like I was slighted in the least. With twelve different varieties of strawberries to choose from, I chose three to suit my palate. There are the teeny-tiny sweet ones, the normal ones, and the ones that taste like a cross between strawberries and raspberries. God bless the organic farmer and his free samples. He totally deserved my ten dollar bill.

Now we�ll have to see if I can make them last until Saturday so Benito can get his grubs in here too.


Speaking of Benito, when I told him about the eating contest, his only response was �Jesus.� Something tells me that we won�t be watching the 100-pound woman or the 300-pound man eat a bunch of hotdogs in rapid succession. Dang.


Today I look all pretty. I�m wearing a new black embroidered sundress dress topped with a grey suit coat. When I walked around for lunch, I had the suit coat off and the J-Lo sunglasses on. H-O-T!

Besides looking pretty, today�s been just a regular ol� day. Work�s had a bunch of meetings, I finished some crap, and I started some new crap. Nothing worth mentioning since work�s been a real snooze lately. Zzzzz.


I have these two coworkers who chat about absolutely nothing all day long that I�m ready to smack. I really don�t give a shit about your birthday, you being late because you had to bring your husband his forgotten golf shoes, or your volleyball team.

(But since you read my diary, I assume you are interested in these sorts of things. However, if you were my coworker and a closet lesbian who wore short-sleeved sweaters with the zip-up back and chatted all day long with the office lesbian, I couldn�t give two shits. So yeah.)


This early evening I�m hanging out with my friend Eileen. She wants me to be all important and business-like like her. So I agreed to learn more. We�ll see how things go with that. I�m definitely interested.


Afterwards, I got a little mid-week surprise. Benito asked if I wanted to hang out tonight for some grillin� and chillin�. Maybe even a little smoochin� too. That�ll be a nice way to end my favorite day of the week.


Yes, Thursday is my favorite day of the week. Friday�s too much of an obvious wad-blow. Wednesday is too far from the weekend. I have too many coworkers in the office on Tuesdays. Mondays = blah. So Thursday it is. Sunday comes in second.


UPDATE! The other office lesbian has come over twice today to talk with the office lesbian who sits near me. I wonder if the closet lesbian is jealous. She�s away from her desk right now, so it�ll be interesting to see her reaction when she returns. I�d love to see the closet lesbian fight the nearby office lesbian�s admirer. Two words: Cat Fight!


Earlier I mentioned not wanting to hear about coworkers� volleyball games. Now sit down and listen to mine.

My Tuesday night vball games are going horribly. We�re lost 3-0, 2-1, and 3-0 each week so far. I set up the team where I was supposed to be the worst person out there. Unfortunately, this didn�t work out quite so well. I won�t talk specifics, but you likely get my drift.

I seem to have one Michael Jordan-esque play each week (ya know, if he played vball), and this week�s was an amazing one-handed save that threw the other team off. Go me!

(Last week I had my amazing serve. The week before I had a crazy-good spike where you would have thought I was 6�1� instead of 5�1�.)

But really, the best part of this going out afterwards. We go to this place with $2 burgers and tater tots and all drafts priced at $2.50. (Yes, I order a burger without meat.) Get a couple ciders and plenty o� tots in me, and I�m a happy Jo.


I think I�ve eaten $4 worth of strawberries so far. Plenty left for Benito.


Man, I�m really all over the place right now.


I wonder if I have strawberries in my teeth.


Sorry. ADDing out. I don�t think I�m used to food without pesticides sprayed all over it. Gonna leave before I really lose it. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com