CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Happy Mother's Day, Maa

2003-05-11� � 2:11 p.m.
When we lived in the small house, my parents had a �For Better or for Worse� comic taped inside their closet. The wife is questioning the husband�s choice of clothes, which includes a hideous combination of stripes, checkers, dots, and spots.

The last frame, �Well, everything�s blue,� summed the male thoughts on fashion.

Since then, �For Better or for Worse� has always been a comic that my eyes wander to when I actually find a Sunday paper in-hand. And besides this particular Sunday entry, one other sticks out in my mind.

The mom is on the balcony brushing her hair and remembering her own mother. How she used to admire her and mimic her while growing up. There was more to it, but the last frame shows the daughter looking longingly at her mom through a window.

And this reminded me of me.

I wanted long all-one-length hair, loved that my eyes were also blue, and always tried to get the 80�s-style tidal wave in my hair �just so,� hoping to look like Maa, back before she was ever called Maa.

So let me take a few minutes to write up things that I love about Maa:

She made additional worksheets for me when I was a nerdling four year old who couldn�t get enough of the workbooks they sell at WalMart, having already worked through all of the available grades.

She understands that the movie where they boy shoots his eye out with the BB gun and the kid gets his tongue stuck on the poll is NOT, and I repeat NOT, required viewing for the holidays.

Her plants never die. If you don�t like your plants, give them to me.

Mister Good.

She shuttled me from dance lessons to tumbling to softball to choir and to school in any given week.

She sat through so many of those damn smart-kid assemblies. That had to have been B-O-R-I-N-G.

She didn�t cry when she dropped me off at college.

Hell, she didn�t object too much when I said that I wanted to go to college.

She didn�t get pissed when I wrecked her car.

She had my brother in 55 minutes...

And two weeks later she still put on a fantastic at-home birthday party for my 8th birthday.

She taught me not to drink after other people.

Love ya Maa.


Other moms who deserve some recognition:

Ronni, who always knows when help is needed and will do anything in her power to help you make it happen.

Sherry, who will feed you as much as she loves you.

Maw Maw, who embodies all things good and grandmotherly.

Do your part. Go and hug a mom today.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com