CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Mister, Vacation, and the Upcoming Weekend

2005-06-24� � 2:28 p.m.
Well, you won�t get to hear about anymore dates with Mister. I weaseled out of the goodnight kiss again, since I know it�s just not gonna happen.

He�s too young. He likes dogs. He�s going back to school. He hunts.

Oh yeah. The big one: I�m just not feelin� it.

I need that witty back-and-forth banter. I need someone who does more than smile during the quiet moments. I need someone who can hang -- intellectually, socially, and physically. You have to keep up.

This particular Mister is quite a catch. Your mom would be proud if you took him home to dinner, as he�s as good-on-paper as they come.

Good job. Good looking. Good manners. Good guy.

Allow me to repeat: I�m just not feelin� it.

I swear to you all, myself, and anyone who�s never read this site in their entire lives, this really and truly has NOTHING to do with meeting up with Benito on Sunday. I�m keeping the two separate, knowing that they�re two entirely different situations that merely affect how the other is handled.

If Benito and I hook it back up, yes, Mister would definitely be gone. In a heartbeat. Make no doubt about where my preferences lie.

If Benito and I decide not to work things out, and Mister was someone who I wanted around, I�d keep him around.

But it looks like I don�t have to worry about that now. And for this, I�m thankful. Mister will be pushed to friend status no matter what goes down on Sunday.

And that�s that.

(Oh geez... I just got a phone call. If I were interested in the guy, this would never happen in a million years... He just called to ask me to lunch today and also to run after work and also to see what was going on this weekend.)

Moving on, now...

Istanbul! Istanbul! Istanbul!

Can you tell how excited I am?! The hardest part about this trip will be waiting until the end of August to finally go.

I emailed the friends that Happy and I are staying with, and they�re all excited too. This is going to be ridiculously fun!

EEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!

This weekend is a packed one, as many of the upcoming ones are.

Tonight Happy and I are keeping it chill, making dinner at my place, walking to the running store for her to get some shoes and for me to pick up my race packet, and then walking to the movies for a showing of Mr. and Mrs. Smith.

The next morning I�m up bright and early to meet my friend Oz at the Proud to Run race. Afterwards we�ll play it by ear. I�m hoping to scope out at least the outside of his new place since we�re nearby... But there�s also a festival going on. Whatever he�s up for after, I�m up for.

Then it�s time for a shower and a nap. Seriously. Weather.com confirms that it�ll indeed be nearly 90 when I run the race tomorrow. What is this, Houston?

Later that afternoon I�m heading up to the beach as friend-in-tow as Happy meets a boy she�s not too sure about. Safety first! Not only is she meeting him in a very public place, she�s also taking me with her. I guess all of my kickboxing, yoga, and running is handy.

So if you�re a random reader who�s meeting a girl this weekend at the beach and you�re suddenly boxed in the ears and see someone small scampering off, you know it was me doing silent yoga poses to sneak up on you like a ninja, the kickboxing four-punch combo to knock you on your ass, and all the running to get me away quickly. Watch yourself, ya hear?

Other friends will join us there as the day goes on, and we�re ending the day at a friend�s house for a BBQ.

This is what a Chicago summer is made of...

The next day I�m going to try to squeeze in a short run, an hour-long mass service, and return some clothes and shoes that I changed my mind on. And I�m going to try to get all of this done before I meet up with Benito.

For those of you who have expressed concern about any anger I have toward him, don�t worry about it. I�m as calm as they come right now. I�ll hear him out, respond, and we�ll see if there�s common ground to work toward. It�s going to require some compromise, creativity, and being totally upfront and honest with each other, but we�re two very reasonable people who both think and act rationally, even in emotional situations. I�m confident that we�ll find some resolution that works for both of us.

In other positive and healthy news, I just updated my RealAge profile, and I�m 17.1 instead of my actual 25.7 years old. I�ve bettered myself by almost three years since the last time I updated. Working out more actually does something! Yahoo!

On that note, have a great weekend everyone!�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com