CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Dyeing, Drinking, Cleaning, Showing, and Wowing

2004-05-17� � 4:12 p.m.
On Friday I took to the shower soon after coming home. I saturated my hair in this bottle�s contents with hopes of looking like a rockstar afterwards. Such was not my luck.

With slightly dark brown hair (instead of rockstar red), I met up with friends at a bar, swearing to only have two beers so Happy and I could meet up with another friend for a b-day party in my neighborhood.

What we didn�t take into account though was that the beers were in big ol� glasses. We indeed had two beers... But after those two we found ourselves talking loudly, giggling madly, and quite stumbly.

We ended up at a dance club that we frequented this time last year, and I ran into some people from this past summer who I had hung out with. The two groups of friends dwindled, and I eventually made my way home.

Crashed. Hordcore. Slept the drunken sleep of the beer gods.

The next day I bounced up at something like 8:30, washed the mountain of clothes, re-dyed my hair to get a spunkier color, and cleaned the apartment like a mofo since I had an 11:45 appointment.

The lookers were arranged by my apartment�s office, and come noon when no one had come up to my apartment with a leasing agent in-tow, I went down to find out what was going on.

The manager in the office relayed that they cancelled this morning.

$%^& %^&* #$%^!!!

I spent the day packing up, listing eBay auctions, and getting other small-scale things done.

I met up with Mick around dinnertime for his promised yay!-you-made-good-grades dinner. We gorged ourselves on some damn good chopped salad (me), portabella steaks (me), grilled asparagus (me), red skinned mashed potatoes (me), seafood bisque (him), pepper crusted filet (him), wild rice (him), and key lime pie (us).

I wanted to go into a food coma, but we met up with Happy and her boyfriend at his sister�s place to meet everyone and then go to a party for another friend. An hour ticked away, and it was time to get Mick to the train station, so we skipped on the second party.

I went home at a reasonable hour, worried slightly about Benito braving public transportation on his way home from the airport, and went to bed around 1.

The next day I absolutely could not wake up. I knew I had to show the apartment at 1:30, so I roused myself for a shower and to take out the trash.

My 1:30 came at 2:00. She oohed and aahed the place. As I walked her down she said that it was her top pick but that she needed to look at one other place.

Don�t let the door hit you on the ass on your way out, ma�am.

To finish up the odds and ends in my pantry, I started making a pizza dough for dinner. Right after I washed my hands, I got a call and the girl asked if she could come right now.

Sure thing, sugarplum.

Ten minutes after showing her everything (including the sundeck on such a lovely day), she was signing dotted lines and handing over money.

This girl could be my best friend, we�re so damn similar. As she was leaving, we both clapped, bounced, and squealed. I�m going to have to give her a call in a couple days to get her email address to add her to my this-is-what-we�re-doing-this-weekend distribution list. She could be a fun addition to the friend herd.

After all was taken care of, I got a call from Benito about making my way over to his place. Since the dough just finished its second rising, I packed salads, dough, soy cheese, and tomato sauce into some Tupperware containers and into my backpack. I strapped on the blades and made my way along the lake for a while before heading to his place.

After a shower to de-stink myself, I said, �TA-DA!� and produced dinner ingredients. In the several months that I�ve hung out with him, he�s yet to get a taste of ChicagoJo cooking. Admittedly, many of my dinners consist of Wheat Thins and hummus or pasta with sauce. So when I busted out the homemade dough, all of the ingredients, and a side dish, he was a little apprehensive.

�Jo, that dough doesn�t look right...�

�Shut it! You wouldn�t know what raw pizza dough looked like unless Pizza Hut forgot to cook your pie all of the way through!�

23 minutes later, the pizza was unveiled. I would have pulled it out of a hat and used fake smoke for an illusion, but the wide eyes and hunger-induced clapping showed that this audience was easy. I tossed the salad as he sliced the pizza, and we sat to eat my creation.

I have quite a few fans of this particular recipe, and Benito�s just been added to that list.

Two more packs of yeast left to use before I move. We�ll have to see who�s lucky enough to share those two pizzas with me.

Muhahaha!

I made a list earlier today of all of the things I have to do before I move, and I�ve crossed off exactly 2.5 items on that list! I reserved a moving truck on Sunday the 6th at 1:30, and scheduled a move-out from 1:30 until 3:30 at my current apartment. I also left a message at the new place to schedule a move-in, so there�s that 0.5 counting in.

Go me! Now onto packing tonight...

I�ll be packing as Benito�s eating leftover pizza... �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com