CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Moods -- Oh How Quickly They Change

2004-09-29� � 12:58 p.m.
Last night. A faster-than-usual run. A quick, successful trip to Whole Foods. Everything getting done overshadowing my phone officially breaking and a bus ride to meet my friends taking an hour. Half-off martinis. Laughing with these folks.

When I came into work today, I felt like this:

No pee in my Cheerios. No rain on my parade. Everything�s hunky-dorey, yee-haw, allrighty with me.

After my morning perusal of hotmail love and dland updates, I remembered I was at work. The happy unicorn changed to something more like this:

Slightly sour, yes. But I�m at work. It�s not going to be unicorns and rainbows as long as I�m working on my current project from hell. This I can handle.

However, after opening my work inbox and having the graphics designer get all martyr-y on me after he�s sat on my instructions for a week and a half, I suddenly adopted this instead:

Knowing that I wasn�t going to get anything done while in that mood, I took my personal notebook (I have a work one and a personal one to help me remember to get stuff done) into a privacy room and started getting stuff done.

First, I called and left a message with my broker. I need to change my beneficiary. No, you can�t be my beneficiary -- no matter how nicely you ask. My brother gets my dough. Unfortunately for him, there�s not much that didn�t go toward paying for my house, so he merely gets my retirement account and enough clams to buy himself a used car, go on an extended vacation, or pay for some college.

After leaving a message with my broker�s assistant, I called to make an appointment with my new dentist. I haven�t had dental insurance since 2000, but I know I need some work done in the near future. I paid $150 for a year on a dental discount plan that looked pretty dang much like the supposedly-super-bad-ass dental insurance I had in 2000. The nice lady at the front desk said she had a cancellation today and offered me the 2:15 appointment.

Bring. It. On.

Clean teeth at 2:15. ROCK ON!

The mood has once again been restored to this:

In completely unrelated news, I found out that my condo�s building was the 1927 Morton Salt headquarters. Pretty cool stuff. Ya know, if you�re a fan of salt. I, however, am a fan of my condo�s building. This makes me thrilled to learn of little quirks like this one. Whee!

All right. Time to get back to work:



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com