CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

The Weekend, More 101, and Why 26 is My 30

2004-11-22� � 5:58 p.m.
The weekend is rarely long enough, but adding sleep problems to the mix does little to help matters out.

My brother flew into the city without any issues on Friday morning. We grabbed sandwiches for lunch before I headed back to work and he was out and about in downtown. We made a big grocery run that evening and headed to Benito�s house to cook dinner and visit with him.

Dinner, an episode of LOST, and some TV moving later, we ended up at my house. The TV got set up, and the fishtank got drained. By the end of the late night, Kyle was playing on the Xbox while Benito and I retired to the bedroom for some seriously needed shut-eye.

We didn�t get up until noon the next day, but my back was in some serious pain by then. Benito rubbed right where it hurt -- bless that man. Shortly later I kissed him goodbye for the week and went about with the usual domestic things I do on Saturday.

Kyle went out for some reason or another, and I moved the furniture all around and got the room just how I want it. It�s quite nice to have the living area all furnished, open, and organized. It�s like an actual adult lives here or something.

After lounging all day on Saturday, my brother and I went to Chinatown. We had a great dinner down the way and then did a little shopping. Almond cookies... A sack of fortune cookies... Mmm...

In Chinatown they have these super-fruity smoothies that are so-so-so good. I got a durian one. I�d always wanted to try the fruit but didn�t want to smell the smell. Click the link, and you�ll see the exact face that I don�t want to make.

The shake was a complex taste, first tasting like ass, then a bit like grass, and then into this smooth burst of something unlike anything I�ve ever tasted before. I probably won�t get another durian smoothie, but now I know what the fuss about the fruit is all about. I wouldn�t sell my children for one, but it�s definitely something that should be tried.

We rolled ourselves home and Kyle played more Halo2 as I read for my seemingly unending class.

Once again with the back pain, I moaned and groaned as I got out of bed. Kyle and I got moving, hitting up the grocery store for some snacks before heading to a friend�s get-together to watch the Bears get beaten. The friend�s house was so close to the stadium that when the Bear finally scored a touchdown, he opened the door briefly for the �surround sound� fireworks.

We left soon afterward for home where I watched an episode of Law and Order, worked out while watching another episode, and then showered and watched another. By then the Green Bay vs. Houston game was on and I watched the nail-biter while looking in the stands for a few cheeseheads holding a JO RULES sign. I didn�t see Benito, but the game was actually worth watching.

Houston played way better than Green Bay, but Brett Favre isn�t known as an amazingly effective player for no reason. When it counted, he delivered. The end.

I wore my cheesehead hat during the game because my brother thought it was funny, so I looked like a real winner when they pulled that win outta their tushes and I proclaimed that the Houston quarterback looks like Joe Millionaire.

More reading for my class and my brother continued with Halo2, and then sleep.

I slept so well from about 1:30 until 4:00. I halfway thought that I should go ahead and get up at this time since I felt so good, but I know that wouldn�t have been a good idea. Without the alarm, I was up and at �em at 8:30 and to work by 9.

Benito might not have had a JO RULES sign at the game, but I definitely deserved one for this morning�s alarm-less rousing. Whee!

Now onto some story time instead of me just recalling what I did this weekend...

While in Chinatown for dinner on Saturday night, my brother and I saw a sign saying that they gave one hour massages for $30 in this one shop. Seeing that this is about half price, we were a little hesitant that this was actually a ploy to get you in there and then touch your privates for a whole lot more.

Not wanting to be the guinea pig in this potential ploy, today my brother went to check it out. Apparently there was no wenis-touching tried, and it was indeed a $30 massage for an entire hour.

I�ll get the scoop tonight on the atmosphere and the cleanliness, and perhaps I�ll knock off another item on my 101 in 1001 list.

Speaking of the list, I really need to get crackin� on some of these items. I almost did a back handspring in Grant Park yesterday, but I was wearing jeans, boots, and a long coat. But as Benito said when he saw that item on my list, �You�re not getting any younger, Jo.�

I think I�ll be properly attired in an upcoming weekend to give it a go. Perhaps I�ll run from my house to Grant Park to even make sure that I�m warmed up before attempting something I haven�t done since I was a nimble 17-year-old.

Dearie, dearie. Has it really been that long? I don�t seem that old, but apparently I�m getting up there in the years.

I�m 25. Har, har.

I was thinking about HeelandLass, how she�s turning 30 soon, and how people seem to freak out when they hit a certain age.

I guess for women it�s usually 30. I hear for men that it�s 40.

However, I know good and well that mine is approaching a lot sooner than either of those ages. 26 is the year for me that I become an official adult.

I�m a mere 48 weeks (which seem to be zooming by!) from hitting the age where I�m most likely to freak out in an unnecessary fashion.

As an explanation, allow me to say that one of my first clear memories is my parents� 26th birthdays. (They were born one day apart, so any birthday celebration really is a birthdays celebration.) I was old enough to remember my parents� birthdays when they turned 26, and that just baffles me.

I�m not looking to pop out any kids in the near future (as Benito sighs a sigh of relief and wipes a bead of sweat from his brow) and nor do I equate having kids with having honest-to-goodness adult worth, but being 26 just seems so much older than where I�ll likely be at 26.

I�m sure you�ll get a recycled version of this part of the entry when the day in October approaches, so I�ll just leave it at that.

And speaking of leaving things at that, I need to get going. I have to check through several documents to make sure changes were made before getting outta here. At least the extra hours are counting toward holiday pay for the missed days at Thanksgiving -- whew!�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com