CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Another Year, Another Day

2004-10-15� � 3:23 p.m.
You�d think I�d be all about a holiday (of sorts) where all attention was on me-me-me. But, no, such is not the case. I�m actually a little embarrassed (albeit amused) that 20-some-odd people will show up tonight to a house party that brags that there�s a 30-pack of Miller High Life and a $6 jug of sangria to celebrate me reaching the quarter-century mark.

Now before anyone remarks about my indifference being caused by aging, allow me to say that you�re being ridiculous. I�m friggin� 25, leaving me only five more years before I turn 30 -- where we know all of the good fun starts! Whee for 30! Whee for 30 only being five years away!

Anyway, truth be told, I have some clue as to what�s up. I�ve had notoriously bad birthdays. The phenomenon started on my 14th birthday when I threw my back out. Plain and simple, 14-year-olds don�t throw out their backs. The bad birthdays have followed in the decade since then with something happening each one. It�s not to say that I don�t enjoy cake and friends getting together (no matter the reason), but birthdays -- correction: my birthdays -- are always a bit awkward.

20-some-odd people tonight. Happy�s house. A 30-pack of Miller High Life, a $6 jug of sangria, and a promise of mai tais and mojitos arriving later in the night. The body count thus far: Happy and her two housemates, Benito and four others connected with him, Helga and three others connected with her, another friend with three connected with her, two peeps from Wisconsin, and three of the loveliest gay men ever. That�s just who all has signed the evite.

Since one of Benito�s buddies (who you, yes you, should fall in love with and have 10,000 of his babies because he is the best damn cook ever) is much like Ricky Fitts with a digicam, I�m sure there will be pictures and videos of all to come soon.

Before the shin-dig commences at 8 p.m. (therefore fashionably starting at 8:30), a handful of girls are meeting up for grillins. I went to Trader Joe�s the other night and picked up plenty of yum-yums that will happily sizzle fo� shizzle on the grill.

[Oh yes, will someone please tell the guestbook link above exactly what fo� shizzle means? Thank you in advance.]

Before the grillin� and chillin� with those of the female persuasion, Happy and I are going out to get our feet scrubbed on and toes painted. Seeing that I have nASSty feet right now from wearing 3-inch heels all week, the nice Asian lady who does the scrubbing so well will likely want to don a pair of rubber gloves before touching my skank-dedos and dedos del pie.

Tonight�s outfit was mentioned yesterday. Red satin with black lace on the top. Black pants and a black shirt over that. Can you say, �ChicagoJo, you look HAWT?�

[Aww -- You even said it synchronously. How cute is that? Now let�s try Row, Row, Row Your Boat in a round...]

Now, let�s see. What else is there to day? Oh yeah, oh yeah -- Don�t think that I�ve forgotten! Let�s end this entry by having you zip on over to see Crowhihs and wish her a happy b-day too! �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com