CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Ming is Not Fun...

2003-10-03� � 11:58 a.m.
Sorry about no update yesterday. I'll say that I was waiting for Autumn-Kitty to read my entry. I'll say that I was busy at work. I'll say that the new cat has taken up a lot of time. I'll say that the (almost) King of England decided that I'd be a good princess-in-training among the brothers, so we've been in negotiations to get me over there with a tiara on my head. He wants me to wear rubies, but I'm all about the saphhires. I think the whine, "But sapphires match my eyes!" was a good move. Sapphires it is my little darling...

Man, I really would make a good princess.

Laziness aside, there's not much to report about yesterday.

Ming has an upper respiratory infection that is both viral and bacterial, so she's been a mopey kitty. Her being sick has made the bonding a bit difficult. Truthfully, that, combined with having to bathe her each night because of her runny poos, has made her decidedly un-fun.

Now don't get all bitchy with me. I know it's perfect normal not to fall immediately in love with one's babies. With Hambone, the love was there before I even met him. And him being so perfect and wonderful and beautiful makes him a hard act to follow.

But there's a happy-ish turn to this story.

Last night as I was getting comfy in the dark, I heard a leap from the wooden floor to my bed. It didn't have the usual impact from my 15-pound sack of potatoes (a.k.a. Hambone), so I was a bit taken aback. Little legs crawled on me, obviously looking for a good cuddle spot. Since getting the 300 tc sheets, I've reserved only the passenger pillow for the kitties.

I moved her, but she insistently came back to me. I thought I settled her down on the pillow with some nice kitty rubs, but I smelled something awful and opened my eyes to a kitty muzzle 0.213 mm from my nose. It was rather cute. She was really trying to sleep her mama. And since I'm all about compromise, I placed her back on the designated pillow and stretched my arm out. There she suckled and fluffed her claws until after I fell asleep thinking, "Ming isn't so bad after all."

I'm leaving work at 1:30 to take her to the vet. Hopefully we can get her fixed up and feeling better.

One other thing I will quickly mention: Hambone LOVES her. They became fast buddies, and now they happily sniff each others' butts. If nothing else were to change, I'd tolerate her for his happiness.

Oh the things you do for your first love... �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com