CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Not Horrendous

2005-11-03� � 4:58 p.m.
The other night when I talked with Benito about my first chapter coming along nicely, he asked for my opinion on my writing�s crappiness. (No, he�s not being rude. He just knows that you can�t write a masterpiece in the sort of time NaNoWriMo allows.)

My reply: It�s not horrendous.

If there�s ever been a dustcover quote more lovely, I don�t know what it is. My book about an adulterous wife is simply �not horrendous�.

I�ve changed my mind about letting others read, as this story is going nowhere at a rate that is quite embarrassing. However, here�s a quick snippet from the first chapter:

In frigid November you would assume that all taxi stands would be overly crowded and ready to take a jilted (and now tipsy) wife home for another sexless evening. But that was not the case at the Grand Pomba Hotel. Without a taxi in sight, I turned to walk north, knowing that I�d eventually hit a taxi with its vacancy sign lit and would at least shave a couple dollars off my bill by walking in the right direction toward home. After paying Joey�s quite-generous tip on two glasses of woody alcoholic goodness with my own cash, saving myself a couple dollars would be a nice bonus.

However, such was not the case this evening. No taxis crossed my path until it was too late. By then, an ambulance was the transportation I most desperately needed.

So there.

I have to change for kickboxing, so I�m outta here. I�ll go ahead and make a joke that I�m saving all of my writing for the novel. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com