CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

The Jo of Your Life

2006-03-27� � 7:43 p.m.
If you got here through a link from another�s page, please click here to find out what that�s all about.

Many thanks to the following people who have already helped raise up to $6 for the American Cancer Society without opening their wallets: PMBaker, ChalupaGrrl, Nana9, Hibiscus101, MissElyssa, Catie-dids, and Mighty Ma.

If you linked to me and I missed it, please let my guestbook know.

And just a reminder: You do not have to be a Diaryland member to link and get counted!

Now get to linking, and go sign Crowhihs� guestbook.


It�s been such a blur since I�ve last written.

Two weekends back: A sports bar for the NCAA tourney was hit up a couple times. I went shopping and scored a flirty skirt, a going-out shirt, and a sweater that I got loads of compliments on when I wore it yesterday.

Monday: I borrow a friend�s truck to move some stuff. I haven�t driven regularly in about three years, I�ve never driven in the city, and I haven�t driven a stick shift regularly in... well, ever, so it was amusing to see how that went. I stalled the truck only once, a mere few blocks from where I started, so it was acceptable. My strong, proud woman card wasn�t revoked.

Tuesday: I met up with some friends for dinner at Red Lobster. My condo�s security guard was supposed to come with us, but her car broke down. If you haven�t eaten at Red Lobster lately and think that the novelty is something you�d enjoy, I�ll save you the $80 and say not to go there. Hit up Joe�s Crab Shack instead. Their fried stuff is better and cheaper than Red�s fried stuff. I also watched some Nashville Star, and I had to laugh when this week�s episode was inundated with ads for Red Lobster. I guess advertising worked on me since I didn�t notice a single ad for Red the previous week.

Wednesday: I got shit done around the house. When you live alone, it narrows down pretty quickly to who has to be the one to do stuff. [sigh]

Thursday: I had a long choir practice for my upcoming show.

Click that picture to purchase a ticket to watch me sing, dance, and be on top of a pyramid.

When I got home that night, I made the executive decision not to go to sleep. Seeing that I don�t get any shut-eye until nearly 2 a.m. each night, making it to the airport for a 6 a.m. flight would mean that I got about 1.5 hours of sleep before I promptly ignored my alarm and missed my flight.

My door man looked at me a little funny at 3 a.m. when I came downstairs fully dressed with my freshly washed hair combed and makeup on.

Friday: I caught the red eye to NYC to visit my friend Catie-dids. Much like the time I went on vacation with Crowhihs, I had yet to meet Catie-dids before I showed up to her house.

We lounged around the house for a bit before changing into our workout gear and grabbing lunch on our way into the city. We met up with her awesome friend at her work, and her friend and I went running in Central Park while Catie went to the gym. We all got cleaned up and headed to dinner in the Village with another friend.

The night was spent drinking copious amounts of stuff that makes you do silly things. However, the decision to go out as we did was not made under the influence of anything:

Yes, I�m wearing an afro wig.

We stumbled home at about 3 a.m. after our fabulous evening out.

Let me recap the lack of sleep: Wake up at 8 a.m. on Thursday. Work all day long. Catch a Red Eye flight on Friday. Run 4 miles in Central Park. Shop a lot. Go out all night and act like a damn fool.

Somehow I got up at a decent hour the next morning, only to shower and then repeat much of the previous day. (Sans the wig. It needed some serious Febreezing.)

Tonight I again skipped ukulele lessons in favor of getting some Internetting done. I�m about to head to the running store to grab my racing uniform and then probably get some sushi in the neighborhood. I�ve got to squeeze in a run sometime in preparation for this weekend�s first race of the season.

Here�s to hoping that sucking on Sunday will sucker me into not sucking later in the season!

G�nite, all. Happy Monday. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com