CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Camping and Flinging Myself 500 Feet in the Air

2005-07-11� � 4:01 p.m.
I spent this weekend with nature under my nails and very little I could do about it.

I�ll admit it. Despite having no issues with working up a sweaty mess, I�m still a bit of a prissy girl.

Case in point: I showered twice and filed my nails while camping.

On Thursday night, my friend Happy and I took off for Wisconsin. We stayed the night with her sister before heading to the Dells the next day. The Dells weren�t what I was expecting, with many more water parks and fried food restaurants than my simply being told that it was the gathering spot for families hailing from the Midwest had prepared me for.

We ended up at some strip of t-shirt and candy stores, exploring a popcorn shop, and sniffing what I�m sure were very yummy hotdogs before busting out the map and meandering our way to the lake. Fifty dollars each later, we were strapped with harnesses and shot 500 feet into the air, being pulled by a boat.

Parasailing is highly recommended, so long as you can get over the initial, very fast ascent. Happy was all smiles, and I stuck my face in a grimace as I shot skyward. The disposable camera�s photos will surely show our differences once I send them for development...

That was the highlight of my weekend. Well, that and burning things. Camping really is all about the fire.

There was very little cell reception all weekend long, but I did manage a few text messages out to Benito. You�ve gotta love technology.

After cleaning up from camping (shower, makeup, shaving my legs, and giving myself a manicure), Benito showed up. We walked to fancy sushi and caught each other up on our weekends. He�s not feeling 100%, so we took it easy for the rest of the night.

This morning he left at 6:30 so his car wouldn�t get towed from the street parking, and I crashed out again instead of going for the run I planned. My back still hurts from two nights of sleeping on the ground, so it�s probably for the best.

There�s not much going on today since I�ve spent much of it working, but tonight is another real estate class. I�m getting down to the last of the sessions, and my test will be upon me before I know it. Eek! So here�s to cracking the whip on myself and not being as social as usual. It�s time to lock myself in my house, ignore the cell phone, and really get into this stuff. Failing the class would be way too embarrassing...

Tomorrow night I have a blind date with my long-time best friend�s boyfriend. They live in Texas, and he�s here on business. Since I haven�t met him yet, this is as good a chance as any.

All right. It�s time to hit the el. The friend who usually drives me to the real estate class has her car in the shop, so I have to take public transportation instead.

Until tomorrow, when you get a fancy entry with inspiration from today�s entry on PurpleCigar�s site. You know how I love to bitch and moan about stuff. This should be a doozy.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com