CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Calling My Parents

2003-03-29� � 10:54 a.m.
Last night I called my parents. Admittedly, it had been awhile.

My little brother and I talk fairly regularly, but that�s only because he calls when he gets home from school. By time my parents get home, I�m out and about, finishing my daily errands. And because they�re getting up there in the years (kidding, kidding...), they�re in bed too damn early for me to call.

So I used some of my daytime cell phone minutes to call them at 8 p.m. and was surprised to hear that they to were up and at �em. Kyle still hadn�t been picked up from baseball practice, so they were unfed, dirty, and watching TV.

[Wow -- It seems that I have more than blood in common with them ;o) Except you have to replace that TV part with the Internet, of course!]

So here�s the quote of the evening that made me happy I didn�t have any stitches to burst:

Did you know that ants have hair on their asses?

For those of you who actually know me, I�ll let you have one guess which family member said that...

No, my Dad hasn�t been examining ants with a magnifying glass or anything; he got a new big-screen TV. It�s like early retirement -- Almost like working for the Port of Houston, heh?

Mickey fickey government jobs...

I found out last night that I want to be an electrician for the new port when I grow up. Forget my $30k college education and the opportunity to build up an all-inclusive communications consulting company before I turn 30 -- I'm going to DeVry to get my learn on so I can wear coveralls and bring in the big bucks. If nothing else, I can take advantage of some nepotism and end up opposite the Dad-meister in an office at the Port, exclaiming, �It�s good to be the queen!�

Do they make pink coveralls? [shrug]

Maa�s doing well, recovering from her shoulder surgery. Before we know it, she�ll be hoisting sacks of potatoes over that shoulder again. Nah, she�ll get Kyle to do that for her. He's built like a mule.

Had some girl talk with her, so my lips are sealed. *wink*wink* Maa!

Kyle�s doing well. Too damn smart, witty, and handsome for his own good. Like the other Keena kids, he�s come out of his ugly stage and is my new hero. Although he does have an 80 in art class... [rolling eyes and laughing] I think the 95+s in all of the other classes make up for that though -- He he!

Let�s see if I can find a picture of that handsome devil...

There ya go.

All right. It�s time to complete today�s adgenda:

-- Bitch to ev1 for my Internet not working. (I�m typing this in Word and will paste it online later.)

-- Walk to the ghetto library to finish reading my book about morning sickness as an adaptive mechanism to protect a pregnancy

-- Walk to this new thrift store I found in the Yellow Pages

-- Enjoy the 65 degree weather before the snow comes tomorrow!�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com