CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Pepsi, Piss, and Pinstripes

2005-09-09� � 4:04 p.m.
After Benito and a couple of his coworkers each won an Xbox 360 from a Pepsi promotion a few days ago, I�ll admit that I�ve been drinking it for the caps over the past few days.

Lo and behold, it isn�t the swill I previously remembered. I admittedly like how it doesn�t taste like plastic in the last few sips.

Who knew I could change my opinion on something as life-changing as a diet soft drink.

WHO KNEW?!

Last night I had to take my cat Hambone to the vet because he was pissing blood. Like last November when I dropped $900 on him not peeing correctly, it�s started up again.

I�m a bad kitty owner. I�ll admit it.

Instead of spending $20 in cabs to get a $14 bag of food, I picked up one, small box -- not even a bag! -- from 7-Eleven to feed him since his food was running low. Had I known that being off the wine and caviar-priced prescription food for a friggin� week would cause issues, I certainly wouldn�t have done it. If not for his pisser�s health, then at least for my checking account�s vitality.

I had a 20-minute, $20 cab ride, followed up by a 15-minute, $180 vet ER visit. Benito took pity on me and left work for 30 minutes to drive us back home. Bless that man.

Over the trip to Turkey, my friend Happy told me that I looked too plain and needed to get some better clothes. Seeing that she�s the person I�ve made pinky swears to always speak the truth (your ass is fat, your baby is ugly, your boyfriend�s an ass, etc.), I took it lightly and set out to find some clothes.

On Tuesday I got the final word that I got a raise effective immediately, so I set out that evening to spend that 4.25% increase. I ended up getting a pair of earrings and a present for a friend. No clothes at H&M or Forever 21 were okay on me. BOOOO!

On Wednesday I hit up Old Navy and left with four shirts -- two I can wear to work, and two I can�t. It was a decent score for about $40.

Last night before coming home to find my wood floors had drops of bloody piss that actually mean nothing�s wrong on them, I stopped at Ann Taylor LOFT. Holy cow! I had no idea what to expect, but their mailing list�s coupon for 20% off brought me in. Now we�re talking... I had a personal shopper help, and I left spending part of my raise on a bunch of on-sale and then further discounted stuff: pin-striped pants, a wrap shirt, a deep v-neck sweater, a cotton shirt with the starched collar and cuffs, and the shirt-sleeved, nicely fitted button-up that I�m wearing today.

Go Ann Taylor LOFT!

Tonight I�m stopping at NY&C. Tomorrow post-haircut is the good consignment shop and Express.

After that, I�m all shopped out.

With that, I�m all worked out too. I�m outta here. Have a good weekend, everyone.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com