CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

The Truth About Preseason

2004-08-12� � 5:37 p.m.
About a month ago, I reported that I was losing Benito on August 9th when preseason football started. He read that entry and quelled any complaints by saying that preseason stinks and that I would have at least another month before we had to start setting the alarm for Sunday mornings.

Although completely truthful, he failed to mention three things.

First, that damn Madden game just came out. He�s spent the last several nights from when he got home until 2:30 in the morning, propped against pillows and lounging on the floor, a controller in-hand and headphones in-place, with 30 empty Diet Coke cans surrounding his half-naked self.

Damn, he�s sexy.

I�d come on over for an impromptu romp, but I know he wouldn�t answer my buzz for fear of losing his place in the game.

This is unnatural, and I just don�t get it.

Boys are supposed to like sports. Boys are supposed to like videogames. It�s only natural that someone would wise up and put the two together. But must we let the boys think this is worth a holiday from work, socializing with those who remain controller-free, and cleanliness?

Put the controller down. Turn off the Playstation. Eat something besides Twizzlers and Hot�n�Spicy Chex mix. And, for the love of gawd, take a shower.

The second tid-bit where he�s lead me astray with thinking his football-watching was a month away is the third season of this NFL Network reality show. The show follows the draft�s newbies and walk-on hopefuls, lets you get attached to them, and shows how sad they are when they get cut from the team

This preseason is covering the Jacksonville Jaguars (a.k.a., something along the lines of JAX Jags -- who knows).

But here�s the kicker: He doesn�t even care about the Jaguars. In fact, he thinks they�re a boring team.

So why is he watching?

Let�s go to IM to find out:

Benito says: it�s interesting

Benito says: like any other reality show

Jo says: and?

Benito says: nothing beats watching 20 year old millionaire rookies singing their alma mater song to big 400lb guys with half their teeth knocked out

Benito says: that�s good tv

Bingo.

It having to do with football probably isn�t keeping him away from it either, as I�ve yet to see him watch an episode of Survivor, The Mole, or Big Brother.

The final fixation keeping him away doesn�t actually start until this Sunday, but I know how seriously he takes it.

Fantasy football.

Damn fantasy football.

Although I had a handful of pad thai dinners paid for from the winnings of his leagues (yes, that�s plural -- leagues), he�s still overly vigilant with the games his players are in.

Last year he didn�t win for the first time in three years, so he�s making a comeback with a new, rough-and-tough image.

I did his team�s logo:

I think it looks angry enough, but he�s insisting that it would be even more vengeful if I could work it to where the graphic was flipping the bird.

I say he needs to wait until he starts losing to use the improved-upon logo as a boost to his imaginary team�s esteem so they can make a comeback.

However, this is as much of a lie as him saying that I have a boyfriend for another month until the real games start.

The truth is that I�m graphically challenged, and this is actually just a ploy to make it so I don�t have to tinker with graphics software. I�ll just keep my fingers crossed that he wins so I don�t have to try to super-impose any flipped bird over my current football.

So, yes. This is the truth about the supposedly boring preseason that I didn�t have to worry about.

Just wait till season starts: I�ll have a boyfriend that I�ll need to hose buffalo wing sauce off of before I take him into public. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com